Skip to main content
Close Menu Open Menu

President's Special Award

The President's Special Award recognises long term outstanding achievement in planning. The award is made to a planning organisation, team, office, or individual to recognise their contribution to planning achievement. The award is made at the discretion of the President and is not necessarily given every year as it recognises exceptional achievements.

2019 winner

The 2019 winner of the President’s Special Award was the London Borough of Waltham Forest, in recognition of "outstanding achievements being delivered through planning for growth, sustainability and culture”.  The announcement followed a Presidential visit to the Borough in April 2019 and the impressive array of developments being delivered by the Council through a combination of strong leadership and powerful investment in planning. Outgoing President Ian Tant presented the award to Jonathan Martin (Director of Investment and Delivery) and Jane Custance (Director of Planning) as part of his valedictory speech on 22 January 2020.

The full list of previous award winners is as follows:

  1. 2000: Birmingham City Council
  2. 2001: The Planning Inspectorate
  3. 2002: No Award
  4. 2003: The Town & Country Planning Association
  5. 2004: No Award
  6. 2005: No Award
  7. 2006: Planning Magazine
  8. 2007: The Accredited Planning Schools
  9. 2008: Planning Summer School
  10. 2009: The Active Members of the RTPI
  11. 2010: Commonwealth Association of Planners (CAP)
  12. 2011: Northern Ireland Planning Service
  13. 2013/14: The Olympic Delivery Authority and The London Legacy Development Corporation
  14. 2014/15: Dublin Institute of Technology
  15. 2015/16: RTPI Young Planners
  16. 2017: No award
  17. 2018: National and regional volunteers