Skip to main content
Close Menu Open Menu

Outstanding Service Award

On 16 May 2013, the Board of Trustees agreed new criteria for the Institute's Outstanding Service Award as follows:

  • Active service to the Institute (in various voluntary roles such as the RTPI Board of Trustees, General Assembly, Committees, Networks, Panels, Nations and Regions) over an exceptional period will be the basic criterion for the award;
  • "Service" will usually connote active participation in some defined capacity;
  • Length of membership of the Institute or the holding of Branch (Regional) or National office for a limited period will not usually be regarded in themselves as constituting outstanding service. As the purpose of the award is to recognise service to the Institute, service to or eminence in the profession generally will not in themselves be qualifying grounds for an award.

If you know somebody who you feel should be considered for an Outstanding Service Award, please complete the nomination form (download here) and send it to [email protected].

The recipients of the Outstanding Service Award are as follows:

1984: Cecil Newman

1985: Kenneth Cox

1986: Eric Higgins

Walter Bor

1987: Kenneth Pink

1988: Harry Patton

1989: Richard Pepler

1990: Stanley Baker

1991: Sir John Boynton

1992: Frank Kelf

1995: Gordon Cherry

1996: George McDonic

1997: Philip Watts

1998: John Anthony

1999: John Parry

Graham Harrison (presented in 2000)

2000: Mike Oakley

Arthur Bryant

2001: John Dean

Mike Flynn

2006: Tony Chadwick

Bob Stokes

Peter Lindsell

George Goodall

Pete Hakes

Michael Sant

Richard Chillingford

Bill Morrison

2007: Chris Geere

Andy Meenagh

2008: Paul Harris

2009: Geoff Walker

David Barraclough

Lyn Owen

2010: Chris Clarke

Chris Perrett

2012: Peter Wilbraham (presented in 2013)

2013: John Acres (presented in 2014)

Janthia Algate (presented in 2014)

Steve Bateman (presented in 2014)

Michael O'Connell

Tony Ray

Leonora Rozee

Alistair Stark

John Turner

Owain Wyn (presented in 2014)

2014: Bryan Smith

Steve France

John Knight

Ken Burley

Peter Wikinson

Ron Tate

2015: Stan Driver

2016: Graham Garnham

Pat Sutor

Ruth Richard

Iram Mohammed

Janet Rangeley

John McCarthy

Keith Thomas

2017: Martin Buckle

George Worthington

2018: Neil Harris

Richard Arkell

Mary MacIntyre

Alan Wenban-Smith

2020: Philip Ridley

Hannah Blunstone