Skip to main content
Close Menu Open Menu

South West Awards for Planning Excellence

South West Region Awards for Planning Excellence Shortlist

The RTPI South West Awards for Planning Excellence 2024 showcase and celebrate the best plans, people and projects.

Congratulations to the following entries who have been selected for our 2024 shortlist:

Best Plan

  • Bristol Heat Network Local Development Order entered by Mott MacDonald in collaboration with Bristol City Council
  • Climate Emergency DPD entered by Cornwall Council
  • Launceston Safer, Greener Streets entered by Launceston Town Council, Launceston Town Plan Group and McGregor Coxall  
  • Local Plan Partial Update entered by Bath and North East Somerset Council
  • The City Centre Development and Delivery Plan (the DDP) entered by Bristol City Council

Best Project

  • Coverack North Coast Protection Scheme entered by AECOM
  • InterCity Place entered by Plymouth City Council, University of Plymouth and Stride Treglown
  • Melville Phase 1 entered by Plymouth City Council, Urban Splash and Gillespie Yunnie Architects.

Planning Authority of the Year

  • Dorset Council
  • Mid Devon District Council
  • South Gloucestershire Council

Small Planning Consultancy of the Year

  • Pearce Planning Limited
  • Lighthouse Development Consulting Ltd  

Young Planner of the Year

  • Cleo Au, Systra
  • Harriet Bray, McLoughlin Planning
  • Hollie Sturgess, Master Land & Planning Ltd
  • Jozie Bannister, Devonshire Homes
  • Lucy Paffett, South Gloucestershire Council

Find out more about each of these shortlisted entrants here.

“The number of quality of entries this year, across all categories, continues to represent the vibrancy and diversity of opportunities and challenges facing the South West Region. The creative reuse of heritage assets featured in many of the projects with good examples of innovative approaches involving both processes and sensitive interventions. In terms of Plans and initiatives, responses to societal challenges as well focused evidence-based plans stood out, with a healthy degree of collaboration between authorities, agencies and stakeholders.  Site visits across the region enabled the Judging Panel to engage in detailed discussions where the passion and professionalism of entrants helped to inform our decisions. We thank all those who invested their time in preparing submissions and look forward to celebrating Planning Excellence across the Region at the Awards Ceremony on the 25th June”.

Graham Stephens MRTPI
Director at Stride Treglown and Chair of the RTPI South West Judging Panel   


Join us to celebrate regional excellence

Now that our regional shortlist is out, we are looking forward to meeting and giving recognition to the planners and teams who have delivered such inspiring work this past year.

We hope you can join us for our South West Region celebration event on Tuesday 25 June where we will be announcing and honouring our local winners.  The event will be held at the Somerset County Cricket Ground in Taunton.

The event forms part of our annual Summer celebratory reception where we will be joined by RTPI President Lindsey Richards. Find out more

All shortlisted entrants will be contacted about attendance at the event.


A stepping stone to our national celebration

All the South West Awards local winning entries will be put forward for the RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence national awards*. The national finalists will be announced in mid-October.  And the winners will be honoured at a celebration ceremony taking place in London on 26 November.

*All Young Planner of the Year winners will be entered into the national shortlist and will be judged by the national judges and the top five will become national finalists.





If you are interested to sponsor, please contact us. 

For more information 

If you have any questions, please visit the awards hub or contact South West Regional Coordinator. for more information or to discuss sponsorship opportunities. 

Other content you might be interested in