Skip to main content
Close Menu Open Menu

The RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence celebrate outstanding plans, projects and people that demonstrate the power of planning. These awards highlight exceptional examples of how planning and planners have a positive impact on our quality of life in creating exceptional places and protecting our environment.

Entries for this year’s awards have now closed. A huge thank you to everyone who entered. 


The finalists in the South East region have now been announced for:

  • Best Project (this is the winner of seven project categories) 
  • Best Plan (this is winner of the Excellence in Plan Making Practice category) 
  • Small Planning Consultancy of the Year 
  • Young Planner of the Year 
  • The Chair's Award*

*The Chair's Award is a discretional Award chosen by the Regional Chair and agreed with the Regional Judges. This year’s Chair's Award will focus on "Supporting Greener Planning in Practice". The Award may be given to a person, team, department, authority or planning practice which has stood out this year.  

All finalists will be provided with a RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence ‘Finalist’ logo, which can be used on your website, email, social media and other promotional materials.

The South East winners will be announced at a Annual Awards evening on 30 June 2022 at a ceremony in Brighton.  We’re looking forward to celebrating with you in-person this year. Book here

The winning and top scoring entries across all 15 categories will become national finalists in October and we will reward and celebrate the very best in planning at a ceremony in central London on 30 November. The silver jubilee cup will be awarded to the project deemed the most outstanding of all the winning projects.

For more details on the Awards for Planning Excellence including the timeline, list of all categories, and FAQs, visit our awards hub. You can also join the conversation on our social media channels using #RTPIAwards. 

Thank you to our generous sponsors for supporting these awards.

Ceremony sponsor:

Francis Taylor Building

Ceremony Sponsor

Category sponsors:

Boyer Planning

Best project: Excellence in Planning Delivery (projects)

Carter Jonas

Best Plan: Excellence in Plan Making Practice

DHA Planning

Young Planner of the Year