Skip to main content
Close Menu Open Menu

Entries open for RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence 2023

Now in its 46th year, the Royal Town Planning Institute (RTPI) Awards for Planning Excellence showcase and celebrate the best plans, people and projects.

Victoria Hills, Chief Executive of the RTPI said: “The RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence continue to be the leading planning awards that champion and recognise the positive contribution planning professionals make in the communities we serve.

“Planning professionals play a crucial role in creating sustainable communities and the RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence are designed to give recognition and profile to the best plans, people and projects that are really making a difference.”

We have streamlined our award entry process even further, so you simply select your best work completed between 2021 and 2022 and complete your submission on our online application platform. The deadline for entries is 21 March 2023. Find out more on how to get started at

2022 category winner, Judith Jones, Director of Neighbourhood Services Cyngor Bwrdeistref Sirol Merthyr Tudful / Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council commented: “Winning the award for Excellence in Planning for a Successful Economy is a welcome recognition of the role planning played in the development of this scheme. The value added by the involvement of planners from the inception of the project was key to its success and longevity and sets a standard and benchmark for future development in the area to meet."

The RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence has 15 award categories, entries in the Nations and Regions are initially judged across 10 categories and awarded Best Plan, Best Project, Planning Authority of the Year, Small Planning Consultancy of the Year and Young Planner of the Year. These winners become national finalists.

The shortlisted entries are put through for judging in the national awards and will be judged against the others in their selected categories for the national finalist list. The remaining five categories are also judged to complete the national finalist list of 15 categories. The winners and commendations are announced at the national ceremony in November. 

We are committed to continually improving the RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence and for 2023 we have:

  • streamlined the overall entry dates so the whole awards programme takes place in one calendar year.
  • reduced the number of categories to make it easier for entrants.
  • improved our branding and streamlined our communications.
  • offered more promotional support opportunities to our entrants.

The RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence continue to recognise and reward the brightest talent in the profession; the most outstanding projects, teams and people helping to transform economies, environments, and communities. Celebrate your professional achievements and showcase your work by entering now. Visit the awards hub

Back to top