Skip to main content
Close Menu Open Menu

RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence 2022 open for entries

The annual Awards for Planning Excellence are now open for entries that illustrate the very best of our profession from across the UK and internationally.

Following detailed discussions with our awards committees and Board of Trustees, we have refreshed our awards for 2022 to provide a more seamless and chronological application process for anyone wanting to enter an award.

While the awards will still be focussed on rewarding the excellent work done from across the profession there will be changes this year. Most notably we will now make sure that the awards go through one system.

All the entries should be submitted through our online entry platform. Entry is free and the closing date is 11.59pm on 11 March.

Twelve categories will be judged locally and judging panels will undertake site visits to shortlisted entries or invite entrants to present their schemes in a virtual meeting.

These winners will be celebrated first in the relevant nation or region via series of award ceremonies to be held in June and July. In our nations and regions, awards will be presented to:

  • Best Plan (this is local winner of the Excellence in Plan Making Practice)
  • Best Project (this is the local winner of seven project categories)
  • Young Planner of the Year (this is the local winner for the relevant nation or region)
  • Head Planner of the Year (Local Planning Authority)
  • Planning Authority of the Year
  • Small Planning Consultancy of the Year 

The top scoring entries across all the 15 categories will be announced as national finalists in October. Tickets will then be available for a national ceremony towards the end of the year where we will announce all our overall category winners as well as award the silver jubilee cup to the project deemed the most outstanding of all the winning projects.

Now in their 45th year, the RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence continue to recognise and reward the brightest talent in the profession; the most outstanding projects, teams and people helping to transform economies, environments, and communities. Entering the Awards for Planning Excellence offers a fantastic opportunity to celebrate your professional achievements and showcase your work.

We are inviting submissions into 15 streamlined categories that fall under three key themes: Plans, Projects and People:


  • Excellence in Plan Making Practice  


  • Excellence in Planning for a Successful Economy 
  • Excellence in Planning for Health and Wellbeing 
  • Excellence in Planning for Heritage and Culture 
  • Excellence in Planning for the Natural Environment 
  • Excellence in Planning for Communities (large schemes of 50 or more) 
  • Excellence in Planning for Communities (small schemes of 50 or less) 
  • Excellence in Tech within Planning Practice 
  • International Award for Planning Excellence


  • Head Planner of the Year (Local Planning Authority)
  • Planning Authority of the Year
  • Small Planning Consultancy of the Year 
  • Young Planner of the Year 
  • In-house Planning Team of the Year
  • Planning Consultancy of the Year

If you are based in an English Region, you may also wish to enter our Chair’s Award.  Chair’s Awards are awarded each year at the discretion of our regional chairs to celebrate a person or achievement which ties in with the Chair’s key priorities for the year. There will be a Chair’s Award in the East of England, London, North West, North East, South East, South West, West Midlands and Yorkshire.

To find out more about how to enter our Awards visit

Back to top