Skip to main content
Close Menu Open Menu

Winner: South Downs National Park Authority (SDNPA)

The Chair's Award is a discretional Award chosen by the Regional Chair and agreed with the Regional Judges. This year’s Chair's Award will focus on "Supporting Greener Planning in Practice". The Award may be given to a person, team, department, authority or planning practice which has stood out this year.  

Simon Taylor, RTPI SE Chair said: “The South Downs National Park Authority have demonstrated clear ambitions on how environmental principles and protections can inform sustainable placemaking to support the areas needs and the wider "greener" planning agenda.”

Tim Slaney, Director of Planning SDNPA said: “We are so delighted to receive this award.  In particular because it relates to our overall strategy, development plan and implementation on the ground, rather than any specific policy document or development. On behalf of the team, I am grateful to the RTPI South East and hope that the principles we have adopted are a showcase for planning going forward, as they are applicable to all places and spaces.”    

Read the Chair's citation here