Skip to main content
Close Menu Open Menu

The RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence celebrate outstanding plans, projects and people that demonstrate the power of planning. 

The awards highlight exceptional examples of how planning and planners have a positive impact on our quality of life in creating exceptional places and protecting our environment. In recognising and rewarding excellence we aim to inspire others to achieve the same high standards.

For 2022, we have refreshed the Awards for Planning Excellence to provide a more seamless and chronological programme across the Institute. There will be one entry system for all, no matter where you or your project are based and have the same open and closing dates. We will open for entries on 10 January and close for entries on 11 March.

The awards will be celebrated to the full both locally (June/July) then nationally (November) all in one calendar year.

Save the date of 8 July for the regional ceremony in London.  Details of the London Award Ceremony will be published soon.

If you are interested in sponsoring the London Award Ceremony or have any questions, contact [email protected]

Awards will be given to:

  • Best Project 
  • Best Plan
  • Small Planning Consultancy of the Year 
  • Planning Authority of the Year 
  • Head Planner of the Year
  • Young Planner of the Year 
  • Chairs Award*

*London Chair's Award

The Chair's Award for community engagement in planning is a discretionary award for 2022 which will recognise a planning project or team who have demonstrated high standards and best practice in community engagement.  The winning entrant will be able to demonstrate use of innovative, effective methods of community engagement and how community feedback was taken on board to shape the final outcome. 

This Award may be given to a person, team, department, authority or planning practice which has stood out this year. 

The Chair's Award is a discretionary Award chosen by the Regional Chair and agreed with the Regional Judges.

Submissions must be in London.

The winning and top scoring entries across all 15 categories will be finalists for our national award competition where we will reward and celebrate at a ceremony in central London later in the year.

For more details, including the full list of categories, a timeline, how to enter, and FAQs, please visit our awards hub.

Other content you might be interested in