Skip to main content
Close Menu Open Menu

The RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence celebrate outstanding plans, projects and people that demonstrate the power of planning. 

The awards highlight exceptional examples of how planning and planners have a positive impact on our quality of life in creating exceptional places and protecting our environment. In recognising and rewarding excellence we aim to inspire others to achieve the same high standards.

For 2022, we have refreshed the Awards for Planning Excellence to provide a more seamless and chronological programme across the Institute. There will be one entry system for all, no matter where you or your project are based and have the same open and closing dates. We will open for entries on 10 January and close for entries on 11 March.   

The awards will be celebrated to the full in the East of England and then nationally (November) all in one calendar year.

Details of the East of England Award Ceremony will be published soon.

Awards will be given to:

  • Best Project 
  • Best Plan
  • Small Planning Consultancy of the Year 
  • Planning Authority of the Year 
  • Head Planner of the Year
  • Young Planner of the Year 

This year’s Chair’s Award will seek to acknowledge the contribution of an individual who has gone over and above to provide support and mentoring in a professional or personal context to others within the planning industry. Demonstrating they have shown a willingness to share their knowledge, experiences and provide career guidance to junior planners (including students) is key to being identified as a winner.

The award is open to all members but in particular, is an opportunity for a young planner to nominate an RTPI member who has gone above and beyond for them. This may be a work colleague, a member outside of work or a tutor at university. 

To put forward a nomination, email [email protected] with the details of the candidate nominated and a short paragraph explaining why the person merits consideration.

The Chair's Award is a discretional Award chosen by the Regional Chair and agreed with the Regional Judges.

Submissions must be in the East of England region which covers Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Norfolk, and Suffolk.

The winning and top scoring entries across all 15 categories will be finalists for our national award competition where we will reward and celebrate at a ceremony in central London later in the year.

For more details, including the full list of categories, a timeline, how to enter, and FAQs, please visit our awards hub.