Skip to main content
Close Menu Open Menu

West Midlands Awards for Planning Excellence

West Midlands Region Awards for Planning Excellence Shortlist

The RTPI West Midlands Awards for Planning Excellence 2024 showcase and celebrate the best plans, people and projects.

Congratulations to the following entries who have been selected for our 2024 shortlist:


Best Project

Baytree Nuneaton entered by David Lock Associates Limited & Baytree Logistics Properties

University Station entered by Mott MacDonald, Transport for West Midlands, West Midlands Rail Executive and VolkerFitzpatrick

ZX Lidars Head Quarters entered by Lichfields & ONE Creative environments

Allscott Meads entered by Telford & Wrekin Council

Hanbury Hall - The Courtyard Garden entered by National Trust

Lichfield Bonds entered by Lichfield District Council

St Mary's Guildhall entered by Coventry Ciry Council 

Luston Wetland - Phosphate Credit Trading Scheme entered by Herefordshire Council 

Trentham Estate entered by Beaver Project Turley

Planning Authority of the Year

Lichfield District Council

Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council

Telford and Wrekin Council

Young Planner of the Year

Richard Edgington 

Frances Keenan 

Vicky Fox

Rebecca Marshall 


We will also be awarding our Chairs award. This year our Chair, Victoria Lane has chosen the subject of planning for mental heath and green and blue spaces. The winner will be announced on the night. 


Join us to celebrate regional excellence

Now that our regional shortlist is out, we are looking forward to meeting and giving recognition to the planners and teams who have delivered such inspiring work this past year.

We hope you can join us for our West Midlands Summer Ball and Awards on 21 June at Millennium Point in Birmingham City centre where we will be announcing and honouring our local winners.  




A stepping stone to our national celebration

All the West Midlands Awards local winning entries will be put forward for the RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence national awards*. The national finalists will be announced in mid-October.  And the winners will be honoured at a celebration ceremony taking place in London on 26 November.

*All Young Planner of the Year winners will be entered into the national shortlist and will be judged by the national judges and the top five will become national finalists.



Headline Sponsor - NO5 Barristers' Chambers 




Throughout its 100-year history, No5 has developed a reputation for breaking new ground and continues to be regarded as a forward-thinking set. No5 maintains its success in traditional sectors of law while offering specialist advice and representation at the cutting edge of newly evolving areas.

Having grown to over 260 barristers, including 40 silks, No5 provides a nationwide service from its offices in Birmingham, London and Bristol. Chambers continues to attract high-quality work in all disciplines, combining excellent service standards with a progressive, modern and flexible approach to clients’ needs.


Category Sponsor - Delta Planning 




Delta Planning is a Birmingham based independent town planning consultancy operating across a range of sectors, with a particular track record in Industrial/Logistics, Residential and Education projects. We have an impressive track record of managing complex major planning applications including EIAs, together with the successful promotion of strategic land. Delta Planning provides a client focussed and highly personalised consultancy service, combined with integrity, care and professionalism at all times. This results in a strong culture of collaborative working with our clients and design team partners and as a result we are well known as a trusted partner to work with.


Category Sponsor - Tetra Tech 






Tetra Tech is built on a culture of innovation and committed to creating positive, impactful change as we address the world’s most complex problems.

We are proud to be home to industry-leading scientists, engineers, and technical specialists and to use this expertise throughout the project life cycle. Our strength is in collectively providing integrated services—delivering the best solutions to meet our clients’ needs.


Category Sponsor - Waterman Aspen





Waterman Aspen welcomes engineers and technical specialists to make their mark on some of the biggest infrastructure projects across the UK on a secondment basis. We have built careers and provided technical expertise to our clients for 35 years. Put simply, we provide the right people, with the right skills for the job, at the right time – for as long as our clients need them.


Category Sponsor - Aeolus Air Quality Consulting (AAQC) 





Aeolus Air Quality Consulting (AAQC) is an independent environmental consultancy which specialises in the assessment of air quality, dust and odour.

The company name and logo take inspiration from ancient Greek mythology: Aeolus (pronounced ee-uh-luhs) was the divine keeper of the winds.

AAQC support our clients from feasibility to design process, planning, construction and operational stages. We have supported over 150 successful planning applications across 50 different local authorities.

For more information 

If you have any questions, please visit the awards hub or contact West Midland Regional Coordinator. for more information or to discuss sponsorship opportunities. 

If you are interested in sponsoring, please contact us. 


WM Summer Ball and Awards Sponsors 2024

Thank you to our generous sponsors for all your support.  

No5 Barristers Chambers’ - Headline Sponsor

No5 Barristers Chambers’

Aeolus Air Quality Consulting (AAQC)

Category Sponsor - Planning Authority of the Year

Tetra Tech – Category Sponsor - Best Project

Tetra Tech

Waterman Aspen – Category Sponsor - Chairs Award

Waterman Aspen

Delta Planning – Category Sponsor - Young Planner of the Year

Delta Planning