Skip to main content
Close Menu Open Menu

Bus station regeneration wins RTPI North West Award

The Whitehaven Bus Station project [pictured above] by Copeland Borough Council has been unveiled as this year’s winner of the Royal Town Planning Institute’s (RTPI) North West Awards for Planning Excellence.

The £6.5m regeneration project overhauled Whitehaven’s historic gateway art-deco bus station into Cumbria’s flagship digital and creative hub. Comprising of managed workspace, artisan food & beverage offerings as well as flexible workspace, the multi-use bus station aims to reflect the post-Covid evolving world of office space.

The development brings city-style start-up space to the coast of Cumbria with 24-hour access, digital and prototyping suites and co-located business support services. Together, they deliver a development that will be instrumental in meeting west Cumbria’s biggest challenge: economic diversification for job security and creation.

The RTPI North West Awards for Planning Excellence celebrate examples of how planning and planners make a positive impact on our quality of life, creating exceptional places to live, play and work whilst protecting our environment.

RTPI North West Lead Judge, Steve Thompson, commented: “The judges felt that the Whitehaven Bus Station redevelopment is an exemplary project that has been planning-led and which has been completed to a high standard despite a number of challenges. 

“It has clearly been designed to meet the needs of the local community and has been delivered through an effective and successful partnership.

“The development shows what can be achieved with strong local leadership, community support, the right development and funding partners, and critically the involvement of planners at all stages.”

To see the presentation to the winners visit the RTPI YouTube channel

The 2021 category winners are:

Excellence in Planning for Heritage & Culture

Winner - Bus Station, Whitehaven, submitted by Copeland Borough Council

Excellence in Plan Making in Practice

Winner - Baltic Triangle, submitted by LDA Design

Commendation – St Cuthbert’s Garden Village, Carlisle, submitted by Carlisle City Council

Excellence in Planning for a Successful Economy

Winner – Bus Station, Whitehaven, submitted by Copeland Borough Council

Planning Team of the Year (Public Sector)

Winner – Halton Council

Commendation - Rochdale Council

Planning Team of the Year (Private Sector)

Winner – Nexus Planning

Commendation – Avison Young

Young Planner of the Year

Winner – Olivia Pemberton, Eden Planning

Chair’s Award

Winner – Sam Stafford, Barratt Developments

Overall Winner – Bus Station, Whitehaven, submitted by Copeland Borough Council

Back to top