This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

Past award winners

Awards 1

2018 Award Winners

The 2018 regional awards were presented at the Award Ceremony Dinner and Ball, on Friday 12 October at the Burlington Hotel, Birmingham.

Regional Award for Planning Excellence

St. Modwen Homes for Victoria Park, Stoke-on-Trent

P 1065471_45278884472_o

Transformation of vacant football stadium into homes wins top regional award

St Modwen Home's residential scheme at Victoria Park in Stoke on Trent has won this year's RTPI West Midlands Award for Planning Excellence.

The awards celebrate outstanding projects that demonstrate the power of planning in transforming the communities where we live. Entries to this year's awards included restoration of a Grade II Listed building and a student project on strategic regional planning.

The transformation of the brownfield site will provide 200 homes on the site of the former stadium of Stoke City Football Club, which was acquired by St Modwen in 1997. Through extensive partnership working with the City Council and other stakeholders, St Modwen overcame several barriers to bring forward the site.

The scheme also responded to wider community aspirations for the naturalisation of a culverted section of the River Trent, reconnection of the riverside walk, and new school sports fields.

Young Planner of the Year

Jenna Langford from Sandwell MBC

P 1065452_45278891022_o

The judges also highly commended Jenna Langford who won the Young Planner of the Year award. Recognised for her commitment to supporting others, Jenna Langford is the newly appointed Regeneration Manager at Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council and has been integral part of the regeneration team since 2010.

Chair's Award

Birmingham City University

P 1065458_30388381187_o

2018's Chair's Awards goes to Birmingham City University for their work and contribution in the Planning Game.

The Regional Award celebrates the best and brightest professionals in the early stages of their planning careers.

Chair of the Judging Panel, Craig Jordan MRTPI said:

"St Modwen Homes worked extensively with the local Council, Environment Agency, and most importantly with local residents, to transform this derelict brownfield site into vital new homes. They are an exemplar of partnership working."

"A significant challenge for the project was a parallel bid by the Environment Agency to re-naturalise a culverted section of the River Trent. St Modwen were able to adapt their project by re-designing the project into two phases.

"In overcoming this barrier and others, they have demonstrated the hallmarks of great planning: creativity, tenacity and innovation."

Previous Award Winners


Regional Award for Planning Excellence - The Birmingham Resilience Project

Young Planner of the Year - James Carpenter

Chairman's Award - Walsall Housing Group and Keepmoat for Waters Keep, Walsall


Regional Award for Planning Excellence - Dudley Council for the Old Glasshouse

Young Planner of the Year - Luke Coffey

Chairman's Award - Katy Craddock


Regional Award for Planning Excellence - The Old Market, Hereford

Young Planner of the Year - Stephanie Eastwood

Chairman's Award - Sue Griffith-Jones


Regional Award for Planning Excellence - The Library of Birmingham

Young Planner of the Year - Ben Simm

Centenary Award - Coventry Cathedral

Chairman's Award - University of Birmingham (Centre for Urban Studies) and Birmingham City University


Regional Award for Planning Excellence - Municipal Housing Trust

Young Planner of the Year - Maria Dunn

Team of the Year - Mott MacDonald and Centro

Chairman's Award - Planning Aid West Midlands Volunteers


Regional Award for Planning Achievement 2012 - Birmingham City Council for the Big City Plan 

Planning Leaders Award - Professor Alister Scott

Local Planning Authority of the Year Award - Wolverhampton City Council

The RTPI West Midlands Planning Consultancy of the Year Award - Alliance Planning

Team of the Year Award - Coventry Public Realm Enhancement Delivery Team

Young Planner of the Year Award - Laura Smith

Chairman's Award - The Young Planners Committee


Regional Award for Planning Achievement - The Nash Partnership for the Blists Hill Museum Project at Ironbridge, Shoropshire                                   

Local Planning Authority of the Year - Lichfield District Council

Consultancy of the Year - Brooke Smith Planning Consultants

Team of the Year - Black Country Cross Authority Working - Joint Core Strategy Team

Young Planner of the Year - Joanne Hooper                                                                                               

Chairman's Award - Peter Taylor