This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

Regional Management Board and Regional Activities Committee

Dh -5re WW0AA6Xaz

The joint committee Regional Management Board (RMB) and the Regional Activities Committee (RAC) represents the regional membership and delivers a range of services.  The RMB sets the business plan for the region whilst together with the RAC they deliver with the Regional Coordinator a range of activities to benefit members including conferences, policy updates, future planners initiatives, commissioning research, organising interprofessional networking opportunities as well as raising the profile of planning.

Annual Review ImageThe Annual Review for 2017 gives a summary of activities organised to support, promote and profile Planning.


Nominations and Elections for the 2019 Committee are now closed. Nominations for the 2020 Committee will open in July 2019

The Board can however co-opt a member at anytime during the existing committee year. 

Meeting Minutes - please contact for a copy

Working Groups

To support the RMB and RAC 6 Working Groups have been established to prioritise projects and activity planning. You do not need to be a member of the RMB or RAC and so any RTPI Member is welcome to join. Meetings take place in Taunton and through email opening up this opportunity to members throughout the South West.

The six Working Groups are:

  • Environmental Education & Future Planners
  • CPD
  • Policy and Research
  • Editorial  (E-News and Branchout)
  • Planning Aid
  • Social and Networking

Awards for Planning Excellence Judging Panel

  • Mike Oakley (2017 Panel member) retired former Avon County Planning Officer (Panel Secretary)
  • Geoff Walker (2017 Panel member) retired former Principal Lecturer in Planning, UWE (Assistant. Panel Secretary)
  • Mike Kelly Director Planning Partnership Ltd, former Chief Planning Officer, North Devon D.C.
  • David Lowin (2017 Panel member) Consultant Lowin Associates and RTPI SW Chair 2017
  • Patrick Power (2017 Panel member) retired former Planning Director, Castlemore Securities
  • Rebecca Randall Senior Planner, White Young Green (Young Planner)
  • Sarah Scannell Planning Officer, Poole Borough Council (Young Planner)
  • Marcel Venn (2017 Panel member) Planning Consultant
  • Richard Williamson, retired, former Head - Sustainable Communities, Government Office for the South West

Please get in touch if you would like to become involved. 0207 929 8190


Chair -  Chris Balch, University of Plymouth

Senior Vice Chair - Dawn de Vries, Sedgemoor District Council

Junior Vice Chair - Angharad Williams, Teignbridge District Council

Hon. Secretary - Mike Oakley, Retired

Hon. Treasurer  - Mark Felgate, Director M.E.D. Planning and Associate at Three Dragons

Past Chair - Suzanne D'Arcy, South Gloucestershire Council

S.W. Region Representative on RTPI General Assembly - Richard Williamson, Retired