This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

Highlands and Islands

OrkneyThe Chapter

The Highlands and Islands chapter includes the Comhairle nan Eilean Siar, Highland, Orkney Islands and Shetland Islands council areas. We promote the planning profession and forge links with other built environment professions and organisations throughout the Highlands and Islands. We provide opportunities for members to attend interesting events to deliver on CPD needs and promote networking and socialising with fellow professionals. We welcome views and opinions from all our members and will always welcome members to get involved with the chapter team.

We have recently adapted how the chapter operates identifying key contacts for each area in the chapter. To extend our reach we are also trialling the use of video conferencing for our events whenever possible, to provide opportunities for all our members to participate no matter where they are located.


The chapter organises events across each year. These can be viewed on the RTPI Events Calendar.


Contact us for further information at