This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

Scottish Executive Committee

Our work is managed through the Scottish Executive Committee (SEC) and implemented by the Director and staff team based at the Edinburgh office. The SEC's remit includes:

  • developing the Institute's position on planning policy in Scotland
  • supporting members in their professional activities
  • working with the seven regional Chapters and the Scottish Young Planners' Group
  • coordinating the Institute's programme of national events in Scotland

The SEC is represented on the RTPI's General Assembly, committees and panels. The people who sit on the SEC in 2018 are:

Office Bearers

Fraser Carlin, Convenor

Julia Frost, Senior Vice Convenor

Irene Beautyman, Junior Vice Convenor

Stefano Smith, Immediate Past Convenor

Trustee for Scotland

Ian Angus

Corporate Members

Elected for 2017/18: Tammy Adams, Lesley Martin, Jill Paterson

Elected for 2018: Jim Birrell, Barbara Cummins, Graham Marchbank

Student/Licentiate Representative

Jay Skinner

Chapter Representatives

Central: Alexandra Lewis

Dumfries and Galloway: Patrick Hanna/ Shona McCoy

East Scotland: Robert Patrick

South East Scotland: Albert Muckley 

Grampian: David Dunne

Highlands and Islands: Scott Dalgarno

West of Scotland: Michael Kordas

Other Representatives

Scottish Planning Consultants Forum: Stuart Salter

Scottish Young Planners Network: Alasdair Adey

Scottish Planning Skills Forum:  Kevin Murray

Sub Committees

The Scottish Executive Committee has a Planning Policy Sub Committee and a Communications, Education and Lifelong Learning Sub Committee.

Planning Policy Sub Committee

The purpose of the Planning Policy Sub Committee is to act as an advisory board to the SEC on planning policy matters with the following specific remit:

  • to implement and review the Planning Policy work plan agreed by the SEC for the year
  • to react to Scottish planning policy issues as they arise during the year and take a proactive approach to anticipating them
  • to promote Scottish planning policy issues at a strategic level within the Institute

The Sub Committee is Chaired by Julia Frost.

Communications, Education and Lifelong Learning Sub Committee

This Sub Committee is to oversee the Communications Strategy, to advise on events, lifelong learning and training needs in Scotland and on internal communication issues for members in Scotland. The Sub Committee aims to advise and assist on:

  • RTPI Scotland's communications strategy including advising on the design and promotion of events, publications and research, media relations, public relations and joint communications with partner organisations and communications with members in Scotland
  • the development of and arrangements for the RTPI Scotland's programme of annual events
  • the topics to be considered by the Scottish Planner
  • on planning education and lifelong learning in Scotland in liaison with the RTPI's Education and Lifelong Learning Committee and the Scottish Planning Skills Forum
  • training and courses in which RTPI Scotland is involved

The Sub Committee is Chaired by Irene Beautyman.