This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

2019 Events

RTPI NE Conference Papers

Papers are copyright protected and are only for the use of the delegate registered to attend a particular seminar.  It is an offence to reproduce, circulate or copy these documents.  Downloads are checked from time to time.




Technicalies of Planning

Scott Matthews - Southern Green
Moray Simpson - Wardell Armstrong
Adam Cooke - Cundall
Malcolm Walton and Phil Walton - Wardell Armstrong
Jo Miles - Pinsent Masons


Infrastructure - Policy, Planning and Delivery at a national, regional and local scale

Jonathan Spruce, Director - Fore Consulting Ltd
Alex Roberts, Director - DLP Planning Ltd
James Harris, Policy and Networks Manager - Royal Town Planning Institute (Publication: A Smarter Approach to Infrastructure Planning)
Mark Reynolds, IAMP LLP - Talk only
Alister Scott, Northumbrian University - Presentation to follow
Darran Kitchener, Associate Director - Milestone Transport Planning Ltd

Autumn Planning Law

Matthew Storey - Newcastle City Council rn
Melissa Flynn - Ward Hadaway
Liz McLoughlin / Richard Farr - Sanderson Weatherall LLP
Craig Allison - Hambleton District Council
Douglas Edwards - FTB Chambers
Frank Orr - Ward Hadaway

Housing Update 2019

Speaker Bios

Mark Massey - IDP Northern
Richard Sagar - Walker Morris Solicitors
Fiona Braithwaite - Lichfields
Dom Smith - Barratt Homes
Jenny Heron - Lichfields
Iain Armstrong - Gateshead Council

Shaping great places in an on-line world

Colin Haylock (Morning presentation), (Afternoon presentation) - Haylock Planning and Design
Professor Rose Gilroy, Newcastle University
Sally Young, Newcastle Council for Voluntary Services
Professor Chris Drinkwater, Chair - Ways to Wellness
Ben Dickinson, City of Dreams (presentation to follow)

Breakfast seminar with Kings Chambers

Stephanie Hall, Barrister - Kings Chambers
Constanze Bell, Barrister - Kings Chambers

Planning and Viability: Delivering development and more

Simon Drummond-Hay, Principal– HDH Planning
Philip Robson, Barrister – King's Chambers
Hannah Furness, Associate Director - Avison Young UK (presentation to follow)
John Devlin, Director and Chris Gill - Design NE
Maggie Baddeley - Royal Town Planning Institute

Town Centres futures: Planning for Change

Dan Gregg, Senior Planner - Lichfields
Rachel Anderson, Assistant Director of Policy - North East Chamber of Commerce
Bob Fletcher, Consultant and Ian Thurlbeck, Director - @retail
Chris Myers, Regeneration Manager - Durham County Council
Bernice Nesham, Senior Asset Manager - intu
Mac Eddy, Customer Experience Director - Insight6 
Michelle McPhee, City Centre Manager and Thomas Rhind, City Centre Officer - Middlesbrough Council


Consultation for the Nation: How can planners be sure that engagement is representative and effective?

Dr Sebastian Weise, lecturer in Digital Civics - Newcastle University
Jen Manuel, Doctoral Trainee, Doctoral - Newcastle University
Jeannie Kielty, Community Relations Manager - Banks Group
Simon Ford, Associate Director - Wood plc
Matt Sanderson, PHD Research Planning/Power Networks - University of Manchester

Timothy Crawshaw - Crawshaw Urban Design

Victoria Hills, Chief Executive - Royal Town Planning Institure (giving talk, no presentation)


Development and Neighbourhood Plans

Jen Hall - Local Chair of Neighbourhood Forum - Paper will be available the following day
Jenny Ludman - Ludman Planning Limited
Jan Manuel, Doctorial Trainee, Digital Civics - Newcastle University
Chris Anderson, Planning Officer - Northumberland County Council

Richard Wakeford, Visiting Prof of Environment, Land Use and Rural Strategy - Birmingham City University


Managing Development in the Historic Environment: Risks and Opportunities

Nick Bridgland, Heritage Director - Lichfields
Eric Branse-Instone, Listing Adviser - Historic England
Bryan Harris, Senior Conservation Officer - Durham County Council
Oonagh Cranley/Isobel Jackson, Senior Heritage Consultants - Lichfields
Loes Veldpaus - Newcastle University
Ben Elliott, Director - Elliott Architects
Speakers bios



Technicalities of Planning

Simon Urquhart - Wardell Armstrong
Sam Wallis - Gordon Ingram Associates
Darran Kitchener - Milestone Transport
Chris Telford - The Coal Authority
Lauren Ballarini - Wardell Armstrong
Nick Blyth - IEMA
Mark Chapman - Cundall


Infrastructure and Major Project Delivery

Craig Peacock - Tees Valley Combined Authority
John McNicholas - South TeesDevelopment Corporation
Nicki Mabelson - Lichfields
Laura Kennedy - Northumbrian Water
Mark Jackson - Sunderland City Council
Andrew Dorrian - North East Combined Authority


Autumn Planning Law

Adrian Marston - Smith Marston Limited
Keith Burge - ERS Limited (Keith will not be providing papers for his talk)
Richard Blyth - Royal Town Planning Institute
Zack Simons - Landmark Chambers
Greg Dickson - Barton Willmore
Frank Orr - Ward Hadaway

Shaping successful, healthy and inclusive places - Urban Design from Strategy to Delivery Seminar

Colin Haylock, Haylock Planning and Design
Tom Perry, Design Council CABE
Tim Crawshaw, Darlington Borough Council - To follow
Hilary Hall, Darlington HNT Programme
Michael Chang, TCPA

Kings Chambers Planning Breakfast Seminar

Killian Garvey, Kings Chambers
Ian Ponter, Kings Chambers

Achieving the sustainable delivery of minerals, renewable energy and waste management

Naren Deen, Watson Burton LLP
Donald Wilkins, Cemex
Eddie Halstead, Environment Agency
Niall Kelly, SUEZ Recycling and Revovery UK Ltd
David Forsythe and Mary Campbell, Stephenson-Halliday
Gillon Dobie, Estover Energy Ltd 

Rural Matters

Jed Griffiths, Griffiths Environmental Planning
Ross Lillico, Lichfields
Calum Gillhespy, GSC Grays
Stuart Timmiss, Durham County Council (to follow)
Nicola Allan, Trinity Chambers
James Copeland and Suzanne Clear, NFU


Environmental Impact Assessment

Gayle Black, Lichfields

Ruth Fain, Golder Associates
Helen Ashby-Ridgway, Lichfields
John Hunter, Kings Chambers
Dr Tony Martin, E3 Ecology
Kevin Tilford, Weetwoods


Spring Planning Law Update - Monday 12 March

Antonia Murillo and Rachel Sykes - Womble Bond Dickinson
John Hunter - Kings Chambers
Jenn Holgate - Womble Bond Dickinson
Gary Grant - Kings Chambers
Ruth Stockley - Kings Chambers
Kate Ashworth - Womble Bond Dickinson


How do we get there? Planning and Transporation - Wednesday 28 February

Andrew Dorrian, North East Combined Authority
John Hacker, TPS Transport Consultants
Graham Grant, Newcastle City Council
Dr Nick Bunn, WYG
Gareth Wakenshaw, WYG

Development Management and Enforcement - Monday 5 February

Joe Nurgent, Northumberland County Council
Ben Parkins, Wardell Armstrong
Mark Ketley, Northumberland County Council 
Dave Westhead, Stockport Council
Juan Lopez, Francis Taylor Building 
John Bradley, Gateshead Council