This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

President's Special Award

The President's Special Award recognises long term outstanding achievement in planning. The award is made to a planning organisation, team, office, or individual to recognise their contribution to planning achievement. The award is made at the discretion of the President.

First awarded by Kevin Murray in 2000, the President's Special Award is not necessarily given every year.

The full list of awards is as follows:

  1. 2000: Birmingham City Council
  2. 2001: The Planning Inspectorate
  3. 2002: No Award
  4. 2003: The Town & Country Planning Association
  5. 2004: No Award
  6. 2005: No Award
  7. 2006: Planning Magazine
  8. 2007: The Accredited Planning Schools
  9. 2008: Planning Summer School
  10. 2009: The Active Members of the RTPI
  11. 2010: Commonwealth Association of Planners (CAP)
  12. 2011: Northern Ireland Planning Service
  13. 2013/14: The Olympic Delivery Authority and The London Legacy Development Corporation
  14. 2014/15: Dublin Institute of Technology
  15. 2015/16: RTPI Young Planners

During the Young Planners Conferece in Belfast, Janet Askew, RTPI Past President, presented the President's Special Award for Planning Achievement 2015 to the RTPI Young Planners. Read more about their award here.

Join the RTPI

Both planners and non-planners can benefit from membership of the RTPI. Find out which level is right for you.

Use the membership wizard
Knowledge and best practice

Find the RTPI's latest policy and practice information, publications and core issues

Learn more
Get involved

Contribute to your Institute. Join a network, become a Mentor, volunteer for Planning Aid England, stand for an RTPI committee … and more

See what you can do