This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

Outstanding Service Award

On 16 May 2013, the Board of Trustees agreed new criteria for the Institute's Outstanding Service Award as follows:

  • Active service to the Institute (in various voluntary roles such as the RTPI Board of Trustees, General Assembly, Committees, Networks, Panels, Nations and Regions) over an exceptional period will be the basic criterion for the award;
  • "Service" will usually connote active participation in some defined capacity;
  • Length of membership of the Institute or the holding of Branch (Regional) or National office for a limited period will not usually be regarded in themselves as constituting outstanding service. As the purpose of the award is to recognise service to the Institute, service to or eminence in the profession generally will not in themselves be qualifying grounds for an award.

If you know somebody who you feel should be considered for an Outstanding Service Award, please complete the nomination form (download here) and send it to


The recipients of the Outstanding Service Award are as follows:

1984:  Cecil Newman

1985:  Kenneth Cox

1986:  Eric Higgins   

           Walter Bor

1987:  Kenneth Pink

1988:  Harry Patton

1989:  Richard Pepler

1990:  Stanley Baker

1991:  Sir John Boynton

1992:  Frank Kelf

1995:  Gordon Cherry

1996:  George McDonic

1997:  Philip Watts

1998:  John Anthony

1999:  John Parry   

           Graham Harrison (presented in 2000)

2000:  Mike Oakley   

          Arthur Bryant  

2001:  John Dean   

          Mike Flynn

2006:  Tony Chadwick   

          Bob Stokes  

          Peter Lindsell

          George Goodall  

          Pete Hakes

          Michael Sant

          Richard Chillingford

          Bill Morrison

2007:  Chris Geere

          Andy Meenagh

2008:  Paul Harris

2009:  Geoff Walker

          David Barraclough

          Lyn Owen

2010:  Chris Clarke

          Chris Perrett

2012:  Peter Wilbraham (presented in 2013)

2013:  John Acres (presented in 2014)

   Janthia Algate (presented in 2014)

   Steve Bateman (presented in 2014)

   Michael O'Connell

   Tony Ray

   Leonora Rozee

   Alistair Stark

   John Turner

   Owain Wyn (presented in 2014)

 2014:  Bryan Smith

          Steve France

          John Knight

          Ken Burley

          Peter Wikinson

          Ron Tate

2015: Stan Driver

2016: Graham Garnham

  Pat Sutor

  Ruth Richard

  Iram Mohammed

  Janet Rangeley

  John McCarthy

  Keith Thomas

2017: Martin Buckle

  George Worthington

2018: Neil Harris

         Richard Arkell

         Mary MacIntyre

         Alan Wenban-Smith