This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

Gold Medal

The RTPI Gold Medal is awarded at the discretion of the RTPI for outstanding achievement in the field of town and country planning.

On 9 November 2016, the RTPI presented its Gold Medal to Professor Michael Batty FRTPI. See here for a news report.

On 23 January 2014, the RTPI presented its Gold Medal to Alison Nimmo CBE.

On 9 March 2007, the Gold Medal was presented to Professor Patsy Healey, BA, PhD, MRTPI, OBE at a ceremony held at Newcastle University. On receipt of the Gold Medal Professor Patsy Healey gave an address on "Reinvigorating the Planning Project". See here for a copy.

Previous Gold Medal Winners

2017 - Sir Terry Farrell

2016 - Professor Michael Batty

2013 - Alison Nimmo

2006 - Professor Patsy Healy

2003 - Sir Peter Hall

1983 - Sir Desmond Heap

1978 - Sir Frederick Gibberd

1974 - Sir Robert Grieve

1971 - Lord Lewis Silkin

1967 - Sir Colin Buchanan

1963 - Sir Frederic Osborn

1961- Sir William Holford

1957 - Lewis Mumford

1955 - Sir Patrick Abercrombie

1953 - Sir George Pepler

For details on any of the Institute's awards please contact

Knowledge and best practice

Find the RTPI's latest policy and practice information, publications and core issues

Learn more
Get involved

Contribute to your Institute. Join a network, become a Mentor, volunteer for Planning Aid England, stand for an RTPI committee … and more

See what you can do