This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

Previous Winners

2016 - 2018 Award


Isobel Bruun-Kiaer for her submission: "Building the Path to Climate Resilience: A study into the role of spatial planning in paving the way to resilience to climate change in the city of Tauranga in New Zealand".

View Isobel's final report here.


Read Isobel's blog posts from 2017:






2014-2016 Award


Rafael Grosso-Macpherson who studied "Place-making in transitional Christchurch – Adaptable and creative projects for a better city"

To view Rafael's report Click Here

2012-2014 Award

Lorayne Woodend, for her winning proposal "Machizukuri - A study into the practice of community building in Japan".

To view Lorayne's report Click Here

2008-2010 Award


Rachel Bland, to investigate the delivery of affordable housing through longer established Community Land Trusts in West Broadway in Winnipeg, Canada

To view Rachel's report Click Here

2006-2008 Award

Joint winners:  Louise Duggan for "Evaluating a successful Public Realm", and Carol Schulz for "Urban Design for Sustainability: Learning from Helsinki".

2004-2006 Award

Tanya Davies for "Delivering Wind Power: the Spanish Experience"

2002-2004 Award

Jane Healey for "Planning Performance: Lessons from Australia"