This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

Judging Pannel 2018

Thank you to all this year's Judges

Chair of the Judging Panel:

The Rt Hon Nick Raynsford

Nick Raynsford has been the Member of Parliament for Greenwich since 1992 and Greenwich and Woolwich since 1997.  He joined the Government in 1997 and held responsibility for housing, planning and construction as well as being Minister for London. He was Minister for Local and Regional Government in the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister from 2001 to 2005. He was made a privy councillor in the 2001 New Year's Honours. He left the Government in 2005. He was Shadow Minister for Housing and Construction from 1994 and front bench spokesperson for London from 1993. He was a member of the Environment Select Committee from 1992 to 1993. He was Member of Parliament for Fulham from 1986 to1987 and was a councillor for the London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham from 1971 to 1975. He was Director of SHAC, the London Housing Aid Centre from 1976 to 1986, and Director of Raynsford & Morris Housing Consultants from 1987 to 1992. Nick Raynsford is Honorary Vice Chairman of the Construction Industry Council. He is an Honorary Fellow of the Institution of Civil Engineers, the Institute of Structural Engineers, the Royal Institute of British Architects, and the Royal Town Planning Institute, and an Honorary Member of the Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors and the Chartered Institute of Housing. He is President of the Labour Housing Group, the National Home Improvement Council, Youthbuild and the Constructionarium, and a Trustee and Vice President of the Town and Country Planning Association. He is Chairman of Triathlon Homes, the NHBC Foundation, the Fire Protection Association Council, the Centre for Public Scrutiny and a Trustee of Open City. He is a Non-executive Director of Hometrack, and a Member of the Pocket Advisory Board.

Policy Advisors:

Craig Mc ClarenCraig McLaren BA (Hons) MRTPI MIED, Director of RTPI Scotland and Ireland

Craig is Director of Scotland and Ireland in the Royal Town Planning Institute.  He took up post with RTPI in January 2011 and works with around 2,500 RTPI members in Scotland and Ireland to shape and inform policy and practice to ensure that planning helps to create great places for people. Prior to this Craig spent almost 8 years setting up, and then managing, the Scottish Centre for Regeneration in Scottish Government and its agency Communities Scotland, as its Director.  Between 1997 and 2003 Craig was Chief Executive of the Scottish Urban Regeneration Forum (SURF), the independent network promoting best practice in regeneration.  He was Scottish Planning Policy Officer with the RTPI between 1994 and 1997, and before this he worked as a planner and economic development officer for the London Borough of Kingston upon Thames. Craig is a member of the Royal Town Planning Institute and the Institute of Economic Development and is an Academician of the Institute of Urbanism.  He is a Trustee of Resilient Scotland Ltd and Scotland's Towns Partnership and has been appointed as Chair the National Waking Strategy Implementation Group by Scottish Government.

Roisin WillmottDr Roisin Willmott OBE FRTPI, Director, RTPI Cymru and Northern Ireland

Roisin, a Chartered Town Planner, first worked at Northamptonshire County Council, where she also studied for a Masters in planning at Oxford Brookes University. She moved to the Vale of Glamorgan Borough Council in the early 1990s working in regeneration, after which she moved to Coleg Gwent. She then moved into economic and planning consultancy, working for ECOTEC across the UK and Europe. Roisin is now the Director for the RTPI for Wales and Northern Ireland, responsible for leading the RTPI's planning policy and practice activities and for delivering services for planners based in the two jurisdictions. Roisin studied part-time for a PhD at Cardiff University, analysing the changing governance systems in Wales used to implement European Regional Policy. In 2017 Roisin was awarded an OBE for services to planning in Wales. Roisin is a Fellow of the RTPI and of the Royal Society. Until recently she was the Chair of the Centre for Regeneration Excellence Wales (CREW) and also served on the MAG for Vibrant and Viable Places at the invitation of the former Minister for Communities and Tackling Poverty. 

Judging Panel:


Tammy Adams - Homes for Scotland
Faraz  Baber MRTPI – Terrance O'Rourke 
Chris Blair MRTPI - Ards and North Down Borough Council
Leanne Buckley-Thompson - No5 Chambers
Barbara Cummins MRTPI - Historic Environment Scotland
Niall Cussen – Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, Ireland
Ellen Cutler - Invest Liverpool
Fran Dance MRTPI - Arup
Professor Simin Davoudi FRTPI - Newcastle University
Viral Desai MRTPI - Atkins
Neeraj Dixit MRTPI - CBRE
Sarah Elliott MRTPI - Aecom
Sandra Ford MRTPI – Homes England
Dr Peter Geraghty FRTPI - Southend-on-sea Council
Wendy Hague MRTPI – Hague Planning Ltd          
Clive Harridge MRTPI - Amec Foster Wheeler
Jack Haw MRTPI - Turley
Colin Haylock - Haylock Planning and Design
Neil Hemington MRTPI - Chief Planner - Welsh Government
Keith Holland MRTPI
Robert Holt MRTPI - Sport England
David Jackson MRTPI - Savills
David Jarman MRTPI - Hobbs Parker
Jane Jones MRTPI - Snowdonia National Park
Emma Langmaid MRTPI - Prospero Planning
Alice Lester MBE MRTPI - Brent
Toby Lloyd - Shelter
Katie Matthews - Francis Crick Institute
John McNairney MRTPI - Scottish Government
Lesley McVeigh - Taylor Wimpey
Christine Naylor MRTPI                 
Barbara Norman HonMRTPI - University of Canberra
Conor Norton MRTPI - Dublin Institute of Technology
Andrew Pritchard MRTPI - East Midlands Council
Steve Quartermain MRTPI - DCLG
Lucy Seymour-Bowdrey MRTPI - DCLG     
Neil Shurety - Border Archaeology
Mark Southgate MRTPI - PINS
Dr Wei Yang MRTPI - Wei Yang and Partners