Skip to main content
Close Menu Open Menu

Judging panel 2020

Thank you to all this year's judges

Chair of the judging panel

Prof. Sadie Morgan D.Des (LSBU), M.A (RCA), B.A, FRSA Director, dRMM Architects

Sadie Morgan is a founding director of Stirling Prize winning architecture practice dRMM, alongside Alex de Rijke, Philip Marsh and Jonas Lencer. The studio is recognised for creating innovative, high quality and socially useful architecture. dRMM's recent high profile projects include Hastings Pier, Trafalgar Place at Elephant & Castle, Maggie's Oldham and Faraday House at the Battersea Power Station.Sadie chairs the Independent Design Panel for High Speed Two and is a commissioner of the National Infrastructure Commission. In 2017 she was appointed as a Mayor's design advocate for the Greater London Authority and is a non-executive director of the Major Project Association.Sadie lectures internationally on the work of dRMM and the importance of infrastructure which connects back to people and place. In 2013 she became the youngest president of the Architectural Association, and in 2016 she was appointed professor at the University of Westminster and awarded anhonorary doctorate from London South Bank University. In 2017, she was named New Londoner of the Year at the New London Awards for her work championing the importance of design at the highest political level.


Policy advisors

Craig McLaren BA (Hons) FRTPI MIED, Director of RTPI Scotland and Ireland

Craig is Director of Scotland and Ireland in the Royal Town Planning Institute.  He took up post with RTPI in January 2011 and works with around 2,500 RTPI members in Scotland and Ireland to shape and inform policy and practice to ensure that planning helps to create great places for people. Prior to this Craig spent almost 8 years setting up, and then managing, the Scottish Centre for Regeneration in Scottish Government and its agency Communities Scotland, as its Director.  Between 1997 and 2003 Craig was Chief Executive of the Scottish Urban Regeneration Forum (SURF), the independent network promoting best practice in regeneration.  He was Scottish Planning Policy Officer with the RTPI between 1994 and 1997, and before this he worked as a planner and economic development officer for the London Borough of Kingston upon Thames. Craig is a member of the Royal Town Planning Institute and the Institute of Economic Development and is an Academician of the Institute of Urbanism.  He is a Trustee of Resilient Scotland Ltd and Scotland's Towns Partnership and has been appointed as Chair the National Waking Strategy Implementation Group by Scottish Government.


Dr Roisin Willmott OBE FRTPI, Director, RTPI Cymru and Northern Ireland

Roisin, a Chartered Town Planner, first worked at Northamptonshire County Council, where she also studied for a Masters in planning at Oxford Brookes University. She moved to the Vale of Glamorgan Borough Council in the early 1990s working in regeneration, after which she moved to Coleg Gwent. She then moved into economic and planning consultancy, working for ECOTEC across the UK and Europe. Roisin is now the Director for the RTPI for Wales and Northern Ireland, responsible for leading the RTPI's planning policy and practice activities and for delivering services for planners based in the two jurisdictions. Roisin studied part-time for a PhD at Cardiff University, analysing the changing governance systems in Wales used to implement European Regional Policy. In 2017 Roisin was awarded an OBE for services to planning in Wales. Roisin is a Fellow of the RTPI and of the Royal Society. Until recently she was the Chair of the Centre for Regeneration Excellence Wales (CREW) and also served on the MAG for Vibrant and Viable Places at the invitation of the former Minister for Communities and Tackling Poverty. 


Judging panel

Tola Amodu LARTPI - University of East Anglia
Ailsa Anderson MRTPI - Aberdeenshire Council
Jonathan Bell MRTPI - Plymouth City Council
Jan Bessell FRTPI - Pinsent Masons LLP
Alison Blom-Cooper MRTPI - Fortismere Associates
Clive Brook FRTPI            
Marion Chalmers MRTPI             
Simin Davoudi FRTPI - Newcastle University
Maria Dunn MRTPI - Worcester City Council
Sarah Elliott MRTPI - AECOM
Helen Fadipe MRTPI       
Diana Fitzsimons FRTPI
Sandra Ford MRTPI - Homes England
Peter Geraghty FRTPI - Southend Borough Council
Alan Goodrum FRTPI     
Gary Halman FRTPI - Avison Young
Colin Haylock FRTPI        
Jane Healey Brown FRTPI - Arup
Kieron Hyams FRTPI - Arup
David Jackson MRTPI - Savills
Euan Kellie FRTPI - Euan Kellie Property Solutions
Chloe King - Sandwell Council
Andrew Martin FRTPI - AM Plan
Robert May FRTPI - Turley
Duncan McCallum FRTPI - Historic England
Euan Mills - Connected Places Catapult
Angela Moore MRTPI - Horsham District Council
Frank Rallings FRTPI     
Lindsey Richards FRTPI - Homes England
Adrian Salt FRTPI - Adrian Salt and Pang Limited
Stefano Smith FRTPI - Stefano Smith Planning
Andrew Taylor FRTPI Countryside Properties
Robin Tetlow FRTPI - Tetlow King Planning
Keith Thomas FRTPI - per Consulting Ltd
Martin Willey FRTPI       
Roger Wilshaw - Places for People