This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

RTPI Future Planners Bursary

The RTPI Future Planners Bursary programme is open to graduates from any discipline who enrol on a fully accredited planning Master's degree at an RTPI-accredited Planning School in Scotland, England or Northern Ireland. You could receive a £2,000 bursary.

Please note that those undertaking the Chartered Town Planner Degree Apprenticeship are not eligible for a Future Planners bursary.


How do I apply for the 2019-20 bursary programme?

Through the accredited Planning School at which you intend to study.  The course must be listed on the RTPI's website as a 'combined' qualification. A full list of RTPI-accredited courses can be found here.

Am I eligible? Yes, if you:

 - Are a UK/EU citizen and have proof of eligibility to work in the UK or Ireland after graduation;

- Have a First or Upper Second class degree at undergraduate level in any discipline;

- Demonstrate an interest in town planning as a career;

- Have an offer for 2019-20 on a fully accredited planning Master's degree at an accredited university Planning School in Scotland or England.


For information about the local selection procedures, please contact the Planning School at which you intend to study. For other queries about the RTPI Future Planners bursary, please contact


Supported by the UK Government's Ministry for Housing, Communities and Local Government, the Scottish Government, the Northern Ireland Department for Infrastructure.