This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

RTPI announces results of its elections for 2019

30 September 2019

The Royal Town Planning Institute (RTPI) has held its annual elections for Vice-President, as well as a range of positions on its Board of Trustees and General Assembly.

As announced on Friday, Wei Yang FRTPI has been elected as the RTPI’s Vice President for 2020 and will become President in 2021. 

Voted onto the Board of Trustees, the group responsible for the management of the RTPI’s affairs, were; Bernadette Hillman LARTPI (Honorary Secretary and Solicitor), Rebecca Dewey MRTPI (Nations and Regions Trustee) and Laura Archer (Young Planners Trustee), as well as Janet Askew MRTPI, Lucy Seymour-Bowdery MRTPI and Tom Venables MRTPI.

The roles of President, Vice President and Immediate Past President are automatically given seats on the RTPI Board.

There are also 18 new members of the General Assembly, the group which provides a forum for debate about the development of the RTPI’s planning policy and practice.

RTPI Chief Executive Victoria Hills said: “Many congratulations to Wei and all the other members who will now play an active part in shaping the future strategy and activities of not only the RTPI but also the planning profession as a whole.

“It is vital that the governance of the RTPI continues to lead from the front in terms of its diversity, so it was particularly pleasing that so many female planners were successful in this year’s elections. Through our future equality, diversity and inclusivity action plan, we'll continue to strive for broader diversity across our all of our governance.

“2020 will be a busy year for the RTPI as we celebrate the 60th anniversary of our Royal Charter and launch a new corporate strategy. I look forward to working together with all the trustees and members of the General Assembly as we take the Institute from strength to strength.”


RTPI Elections 2019: Full results


Vice President and President in 2021: Wei Yang FRTPI



Honorary Secretary and Solicitor: Bernadette Hillman LARTPI

Nations and Regions Trustee: Rebecca Dewey MRTPI

Young Planners Trustee: Laura Archer

Chartered Trustees:

  • Janet Askew MRTPI
  • Lucy Seymour-Bowdery MRTPI
  • Tom Venables MRTPI



Chartered Members

  • Adam Banham MRTPI
  • Adele Maher MRTPI
  • Adrian Brown MRTPI
  • Alison Blom-Cooper MRTPI
  • Andrew Coleman MRTPI
  • Cath Ranson MRTPI
  • Claire Hepher-Davies MRTPI
  • Harry Quartermain MRTPI
  • Joanne Harding MRTPI
  • Kirsty Macari MRTPI
  • Liz Wood-Griffiths MRTPI
  • Mark Hand MRTPI
  • Nick Smith MRTPI
  • Peter Geraghty FRTPI

Legal Member/Associate

  • Tola Amodu LARTPI


  • Alexander Oxley
  • Garry King
  • Nadeem Ahmed