This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

Sadie Morgan named as Chair of RTPI Awards judging panel

12 March 2019

Design industry leader Sadie Morgan BA (Hons) MA (RCA) FRSA has been named as Chair of the Judging Panel for the Royal Town Planning Institute (RTPI) Awards for Planning Excellence 2019.

Sadie is a co-founding director of award-winning practice dRMM Architects, and also currently chairs the Independent Design Panel for HS2, reporting directly to the Secretary of State.

Sadie -morgan -portrait

Above: Sadie Morgan

Sadie co-founded architectural practice dRMM alongside Alex de Rijke and Philip Marsh. The studio is recognised for creating innovative, high quality and socially useful architecture. dRMM’s high profile projects include Trafalgar Place, Hastings Pier, Maggie’s Oldham and Faraday House at the Battersea Power Station. In 2016, the practice received its second shortlisting for the prestigious RIBA Stirling Prize.

In 2013, Sadie became the youngest President of the Architectural Association. She is also one of 10 commissioners for the National Infrastructure Commission led by Chief Executive Phil Graham.

Sadie is also an international keynote speaker and has sat on numerous competition jury and advisory panels, including the RIBA National Awards Advisory Panel. In 2016, she was appointed Professor at the University of Westminster and awarded an honorary doctorate from London South Bank University.

As Chair of Judges, Sadie will also be helping RTPI President Ian Tant to judge the winner of winners for the Silver Jubilee Cup, won last year by the Stromness Regeneration Project, a 10-year plan by Orkney Islands Council to regenerate a declining fishing village.

Ian Tant said: “Over a stellar 20-year career, Sadie has had an increasingly significant role in design and architecture through her professional practice and a wide range of advisory roles. We’re thrilled to welcome her as chair of this year’s judging panel.”


The winners of the RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence will be announced at a ceremony on 24 April 2019 at Milton Court Concert Hall in central London. Book your ticket now.