This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

Outstanding contribution of planners celebrated at RTPI Awards

24 April 2019

Winners at tonight's prestigious RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence included an innovative scheme to provide affordable housing for 24 homeless families in south east London.

Lewisham Council’s PLACE/Ladywell – winner in the Excellence in Planning for Homes (Small Schemes) category – is designed to be re-deployable and was described by the judges as an ‘exemplary solution to the affordable housing shortage faced by councils’.

In total, winning submissions were announced in 14 categories, including, for the first time, Excellence in Tech within Planning Practice, a new category recognising projects that have used a new type of technology or used technology in a new or innovative way.

The Silver Jubilee Cup, presented to the category winner judged as best overall, was won by Plymouth City Council’s groundbreaking City Change Fund initiative.

RTPI President Ian Tant MRTPI said: “Huge congratulations to all those who won or were commended in last night’s Awards for Excellence. The range of submissions this year was just tremendous and truly reflected the outstanding contribution that planning and planners make to successful places, sustainable environments, and lively, healthy communities.

“Nothing speaks up for planning so well as the great work showcased by our winning, commended and short-listed projects, teams and people.”

The judging panel was made up of 33 prominent planning experts from local authorities, private practices, universities and non-departmental public bodies. Chair of the panel was Sadie Morgan, co-founding director of dRMM Architects and current chair of the Independent Design Panel for HS2.

David Jackson MRTPI, Head of Planning at Savills, said: “Savills is delighted to be a headline sponsor of the RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence. The winners this year reflect the positive impact planning has on our communities across the UK, Ireland and internationally through projects, plans and people. I’d like to congratulate all of those shortlisted for awards and the category winners on behalf of the team at Savills.”




Silver Jubilee Cup

WINNER – City Change Fund – submitted by Plymouth City Council


Excellence in Plan Making Practice

WINNER – Wandle Vistas – submitted by Fiona Fyfe Associates

COMMENDED – East Lothian Local Development Plan 2018 – submitted by East Lothian Council Planning Service   


Excellence in Planning for a Successful Economy

WINNER – Spanish City – submitted by North Tyneside Council


Excellence in Planning for Health and Wellbeing

WINNER – Cuningar Loop Urban Woodland Park – submitted by South Lanarkshire Council

COMMENDED – Tackling Health Inequalities in South Worcestershire: an holistic approach – submitted by Worcestershire County Council


Excellence in Planning for Heritage and Culture

WINNER – Spanish City – submitted by North Tyneside Council


Excellence in Planning for the Natural Environment

WINNER – Stirling Enhanced Landscape Mitigation Project – submitted by Ironside Farrar Ltd and Scottish Power Energy Networks


Excellence in Planning to Deliver Homes (Small Schemes)

WINNER – PLACE/Ladywell – submitted by London Borough of Lewisham

COMMENDED – Burlingham Square – submitted by Matthews City and Country Homes


Excellence in Planning to Deliver Homes (Large Schemes)

WINNER – Dargavel Village – submitted by Renfrewshire Council

COMMENDED – Castleward Urban Village redevelopment – submitted by HTA Design LLP


Excellence in Tech Within Planning

WINNER – City Change Fund – submitted by Plymouth City Council

COMMENDED – Drones in Coastal Management Planning in North Norfolk – submitted by NPS Group


International Award for Planning Excellence

WINNER – Ibadan City Masterplan – submitted by DAR

COMMENDED – Development Plan of Jinjiang Dream Town for Talents – submitted by Wei Yang + Partners

COMMENDED – Plan your Brisbane – submitted by Brisbane City Council


In-house Planning Team of the Year

WINNER – Sport England

COMMENDED – Natural Power Consultants


Local Authority Planning Team of the Year

WINNER – London Borough of Brent

COMMENDED – Aylesbury Vale District Council


Small Planning Consultancy of the Year

WINNER – NTR Planning


Planning Consultancy of the Year


COMMENDED - Nexus Planning Limited     


Young Planner of the Year

WINNER – Jenna Langford, Sandwell MBC

COMMENDED - Ailsa Anderson, Aberdeenshire Council

COMMENDED - Charlotte Morphet, Waltham Forest