This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

RTPI Chief Executive appointed to national infrastructure body

09 October 2018

Victoria Hills MRTPI, RTPI Chief Executive, has been appointed to the Council of the National Infrastructure Planning Association (NIPA)

The Planning Act 2008 introduced for the first time a unified consent regime for major infrastructure projects across different sectors. 

The NIPA was established in November 2010 to develop and disseminate learning and best practice for both promoters and those affected by proposed projects brought forward under this new regime. 

Victoria Hills said:

“I am delighted to join NIPA’s Council at a time when infrastructure is high on the agenda as a vital engine for the UK economy to grow and for the country to face up to the challenges and opportunities of the future.

“Major infrastructure projects have transformational power to facilitate house building, jobs and the creation of places. To yield maximum benefits they must be planned with planners exercising strategic leadership and an understanding of how people want to live. I look forward to championing this perspective in future debates around national infrastructure planning.”

Angus Walker, Chair of the NIPA Board, said: “We are very pleased that Victoria has agreed to join the NIPA Council as close liaison between NIPA and the RTPI will continue to be a vital aspect of ensuring best practice in the infrastructure planning sector.”

NIPA’s Council is formed from the different sectors and disciplines that NIPA covers, including key project promoters such as Heathrow Airport, Highways England and the National Grid; planning consultancies; community engagement organisations such as the Big Lottery Fund; legal experts; and planning professional bodies such as the RTPI. Its current chair is Steven Norris.