This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

Welsh Design Chief elected Honorary Member of the Institute

29 March 2018

Carole -Anne Davies Hon RTPI

The Chief Executive of the Design Commission for Wales, the body tasked with promoting good design across Wales, has been awarded Honorary Membership of the RTPI. Carole-Anne Davies has received the honour following her work to promote the importance of good urban design within the planning system.

After presenting Carole-Anne with her Honorary Membership, RTPI Chief Executive Trudi Elliott MRTPI said:

“Design and its synergy with good town planning have been at the heart of Carole-Anne’s ongoing agenda at the Commission. Her leadership, networking and outreach activities have been critical to the advancement of the art and science of planning for the benefit of the public in Wales and beyond. I am pleased to welcome her to the Institute as our newest Honorary Member.”

Over the past fifteen years she has worked, in her role, to ensure planning achieves design quality not just in terms of architectural quality and landscape sensitivity, but also in terms of social inclusion and sustainability in its widest sense

During her career, Carole-Anne has held posts and non-executive roles with the Design Commission for Wales, Cardiff Bay Arts Trust, National Museum Wales, consultant to the Scottish Executive, and the Gregynog Trust. She has unique skills which combine cultural expertise with experience in leadership, change and governance to bring positive challenge to the built environment. She has also made significant voluntary contributions to the work of RTPI Cymru of a number of years, including involvement in Wales’ Best Places and the RTPI Planning Convention.

What is Honorary Membership of the RTPI?

Honorary Membership of the Institute is awarded to a distinguished individual who has made an outstanding contribution to helping promote the art and science of town planning. Honorary Members receive lifetime membership of the Institute.