This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

RTPI Members conferred fellows of prestigious Academy of Social Sciences

05 April 2018

Five members of the RTPI were today elected to the prestigious Academy of Social Sciences, the voice of the social sciences in the United Kingdom. The election of these leading planners recognises the key role that planning plays within the social sciences.

The newly conferred Fellows of the Academy are:

  • Trudi Elliott CBE MRTPI
  • Sir Terry Farrell MRTPI
  • Professor Gavin Parker FRTPI
  • The Lord Taylor of Goss Moor HonMRTPI
  • Professor Richard Wakeford HonMRTPI
  • Visiting Professor Ian Wray MRTPI (Rtd)

John Acres MRTPI, RTPI President said:

“I would like to extend my congratulations, on behalf of the Institute, to Trudi, Terry, Gavin, Matthew, Richard and Ian on being conferred Fellows of the prestigious Academy of Social Science for their outstanding contribution to planning. The election of these three distinguished planners reflects the strong contribution our members make to social sciences.”

These RTPI members have been recognised after an extensive process of peer review for the excellence and impact of their work for public benefit. They have made a substantial contribution to demonstrated and demonstrated leadership within the field.

The Academy of Social Sciences is the national academy of academics, learned societies and practitioners in the social sciences. Its mission is to promote social science in the UK for the public benefit. The Academy is composed of around 1000 individual Fellows, 41 Learned Societies (including the RTPI), and a number of affiliate members, together representing nearly 90,000 social scientists.