This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

RTPI Members conferred fellows of prestigious Academy of Social Sciences

12 October 2017

Four members of the RTPI were today elected to the prestigious Academy of Social Sciences, the voice of the social sciences in the United Kingdom. The election of these leading planners recognises the key role that planning plays within the social sciences.

The newly conferred Fellows of the Academy are:

  • Professor Rebecca Chiu MRTPI, Head of Department of Urban Planning and Design at the University of Hong Kong. As a Director of the Centre of Urban Studies and Urban planning, she is renowned among the international housing and urban planning community with particular expertise on housing and urban policies in Asia.
  • Professor Peter Clinch MRTPI, Jean Monnet Full Professor and Chair of Public Policy at University College of Dublin. With expertise in economic, environmental and planning policies, he continues to give advice to Governments. He is also Chair of the National Competitiveness Council of Ireland and is currently a Director of Public Policy
  • Adrian Penfold OBE MRTPI, Head of Planning and Corporate Responsibility at British Land. He has over 20 years experience across the the public and private sectors. He has expertise in the development consent system, place-making and major mixed-use development
  • Dr Wei Yang MRTPI is an urban designer and master planner with experience in new communities and urban regeneration. Wei is the founder of award winning firm Wei Yang & Partners. Her commitment to planning has lead her to be an active practitioner in promoting joined up thinking between different built environment professionals and institutes.

Stephen Wilkinson MRTPI, RTPI President said:

“I would like to extend my congratulations, on behalf of the Institute, to Rebecca, Peter, Adrian and Wei on being conferred Fellows of the prestigious Academy of Social Science for their outstanding contribution to planning. The election of these three distinguished planners reflects the strong contribution our members make to social sciences.”

These RTPI members have been recognised after an extensive process of peer review for the excellence and impact of their work for public benefit. These four members have made a substantial contribution to demonstrated and demonstrated leadership within the field.

The Academy of Social Sciences is the national academy of academics, learned societies and practitioners in the social sciences. Its mission is to promote social science in the UK for the public benefit. The Academy is composed of around 1000 individual Fellows, 41 Learned Societies (including the RTPI), and a number of affiliate members, together representing nearly 90,000 social scientists.