This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

RTPI Elections: members urged to cast vote from bumper number of candidates

01 September 2016

A bumper number of nominees are vying for positions in this year’s RTPI elections. Candidates from across the UK have put themselves forward to be elected to the Institute’s General Assembly and Board, including the Chair of the Board and Vice President roles.

Phil Williams, RTPI President said:

“It’s great to see so many people nominated for this year’s elections. Our strength as an Institute comes from our members’ involvement. I now urge all members to have their say by voting. It’s important as many members, who are eligible, cast their vote so that the outcome better reflects the views of our membership.”

John Acres, Sue Bridge and Marion Chalmers are nominated for the Vice President’s role. Ian Angus, Tony Crook and Graham Stallwood have nominated to be the Chair of the RTPI Board.

For the RTPI General Assembly, there are 28 Chartered Members running for only 14 positions and 9 Students/Licentiates vying for 3 positions. In addition, there are 11 Chartered Members running for three places on the RTPI Board.

Members will receive an email from ERS, the RTPI’s election provider, which will provide details about how to vote. Members will need to vote before 30 September.


Who are this year’s Vice Presidential nominees?

John Acres

John Acres RTPI Elections 2016 VP Candidate

John is currently a Private Planning Consultant at Acres Land & Planning Ltd. He is an RTPI General Assembly member and member of RTPI Policy and Practice Committee. He has been the editor of the RTPI West Midlands’ magazine ‘Tripwire’ for the past 16 years and is a member of the West Midlands Regional Management Board (since 1996).

In his nomination statement he said “I want to inspire planners of all ages and backgrounds to share my passion for planning, to celebrate our achievements as a profession and to motivate and encourage those volunteers around the Regions and Nations who freely give their time to the institute.  Planning should be a force for change to create a better society.”

Listen: John Acres on why he should be the next Vice President


Sue Bridge

Sue Bridge RTPI Elections 2016 VP Candidate

Sue is the Director at Sue Bridge Consultancy Ltd. She has been a judge in the RTPI Planning for Excellence Awards for the past 4 years. She is a Corporate Member of the RTPI General Assembly and is Vice-chair of the RTPI Policy, Practice and Research Committee. In addition she is a member of the RTPI’s England Policy Panel and member of the Independent Consultants Network.

In her nomination statement she said “As the ambassador for planning I would strive to work to improve the standing and relevance of the planning profession with both government and the public and making the case for planning to be properly resourced.  As Vice President, I would work to further the aims of the profession by demonstrating what good planning can achieve.”

Listen: Sue Bridge on why she should be the next Vice President


Marion Chalmers

Marion Chalmers RTPI Elections 2016 VP Candidate

Marion is currently the director at MRC Planning & Economics Limited. She sits on the RTPI Board of Trustees and is the Vice Chair of the Education and Lifelong Learning Committee. She sits on the Partnership Accreditation Panel, DIT Accreditation Panel and the Irish Executive Committee.

In her nomination statement she said “Throughout my career, at whatever level or location, my commitment and enthusiasm for planning and our profession has been unfaltering and continues to grow and develop. It is an energy which I bring to my work be it with staff, clients, students or in the different roles I play or have played in the Institute.”

Listen: Marion Chalmers on why she should be the next Vice President

Vote now

For further information contact the Governance Officer