This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

RTPI election results: John Acres elected 2017 Vice President

07 October 2016

The RTPI has held its annual elections for the Vice-President, the Board of Trustees and the General Assembly.

John Acres RTPI Elections 2016 VP Candidate

John Acres (pictured right) has been elected as the RTPI Vice President in 2017 and will lead the Institute in 2018. 

John Acres said:

‘It is a great honour and a privilege to be elected to serve as the next Vice President of the RTPI. I am looking forward to playing my part in shaping the Institute and in raising the profile of planning. I want everyone to feel they have a pride in their profession’. 

Listen: John Acres talks about why he should be the RTPI Vice President

The following candidates were elected:

Board of Trustees

Chair of the Board: Graham Stallwood FRTPI

Graham said:

"I’m delighted and very proud to be elected, particularly at a time when RTPI is so successfully growing its membership, profile and influence.  RTPI has rightly set itself challenging objectives around improving services for members, raising its profile and influence further and ensuring that good planning is properly valued.  I am looking forward to working with colleagues and partners across the UK, Ireland and internationally to achieve them."

Chartered members

  • Graham Stallwood FRTPI (stepped down from Board space by virtue of election to Chair of the Board)
  • Tony Crook FRTPI
  • Sue Bridge MRTPI
  • Andrew Taylor MRTPI (Stepped down by virtue of election to Hon. Treasurer)
  • Ian Tant MRTPI

Honorary Treasurer: Andrew Taylor MRTPI

Trustee for Scotland: Ian Angus MRTPI

General Assembly

Chartered Members

  • Chris Shepley MRTPI
  • Janet Askew MRTPI
  • Vincent Goodstadt MRTPI
  • Rob Krzyszowski MRTPI
  • Susan Bridge MRTPI (stepped down from GA space by virtue of election to Chartered Trustee)
  • Marion Chalmers MRTPI
  • Corinne Swain FRTPI
  • Graham Stallwood FRTPI (stepped down from GA space by virtue of election to Chair of the Board)
  • James Carpenter MRTPI
  • Ron Tate FRTPI (Rtd)
  • Lindsey Richards MRTPI
  • Alice Suttie MRTPI
  • Bob Wolfe MRTPI
  • Jan Bessell FRTPI
  • Mike Lambert MRTPI
  • Ian Wray MRTPI (Rtd)


  • Kim Cooper
  • Lorna Heslop
  • Viral Desai MRTPI

Legal Member/Associate

  • Bernadette Hillman LARTPI

Technical Members (Co-opted by Nomination Sub-committee)

  • Jane Jones TechRTPI
  • Katie Baldwin TechRTPI

More information: RTPI elections 2016