This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

Welcome to our new General Assembly members

22 January 2016

Group GaGeneral Assembly

This week saw the first meeting of the year, with the newly elected members joining RTPI President, Janet Askew and Vice-President, Phil Williams for a group photograph during a break in proceedings.

The General Assembly provides a forum for debate about the development of planning policy and practice, the corporate policy of the Chartered Institute and other issues relevant to the objects of the Chartered Institute.

The General Assembly consists of:

  • Twenty-eight Fellows and Members, elected by the Fellows and Members;
  • Two Legal Members or Legal Associates, elected by the corporate members and Legal Associates;
  • Two Technical Members, elected by the Technical Members;
  • Six Licentiate Members or Students, elected by the Licentiate Members and Students jointly;
  • Fourteen corporate members representing Regions and Branches (including two each from Wales and Ireland);
  • Two corporate members representing the RTPI in Scotland;
  • Two Honorary Members, elected by the Trustees;
  • Representatives of Associations, appointed by the Trustees;
  • Any Trustee who is not a member of the General Assembly in another capacity.

GA In DebateThe General Assembly usually meets three times a year. Meetings are held within normal working hours and normally start at 11.00 am. Meetings are normally held in London. The meeting in June 2016 will be held in Birmingham.

Meetings of the General Assembly are chaired by the President. 

How the RTPI is governed

Learn more about members can get involved in the Institute