This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

Over 60 projects and people from UK and around the world competing for top planning award

05 February 2016

A maritime centre of excellence, community flood toolkit and the redevelopment of a 1920s lido are among the finalists competing for the top prize at the Royal Town Planning Institute’s 2016 Awards for Planning Excellence.

 2016 APE LogoOther finalists include a low carbon university enterprise centre in Norwich, the Saltaire World Heritage site plan, a master plan for Aberdeen and Plymouth City Council’s ambitious strategy to deliver 5,000 new homes. For the first time the Institute will also award an international entry from outside of the UK and Ireland with finalists from around the world including Ethiopia, the Seychelles and the Philippines.

The Awards, which celebrate the very best in planning and have been run for over 30 years, will be strongly contested across the 14 categories with 6 categories for people and 7 for projects and plans. The finalists have been recognised for their high standards in planning and demonstrate how significant schemes can be delivered speedily through the planning system.The Silver Jubilee Cup is awarded to the project judged to be best out of all of the category winners (last year's winners, the Thames Tideway Tunnel, pictured below).

APE 2015 Silver Jubilee Cup Thames Tideway Tunnel

Phil Williams, President of the Royal Town Planning Institute said:

“The finalists highlight outstanding examples of planning that have made a positive impact on the local community and environment. The judges will find it difficult separating the finalists and choosing winners given the high calibre of entries this year.”


Andrew Jones, Practice Leader Design Planning + Economics, AECOM said:

“AECOM is proud to be a headline sponsor of this year’s RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence. The finalists are a diverse mixture of outstanding examples of planning, which really demonstrate the impact the profession has on quality and delivery in the built environment.”


David Jackson, Head of Planning, Savills said:

“Savills is delighted to be a headline sponsor of the RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence. The finalists this year reflect the positive impact planning has on our communities across the UK, Ireland and internationally through projects, plans and people.”


The Awards ceremony will be held at Milton Court at The Barbican, London on 5 May 2016. The Headline Sponsors for the awards are AECOM and Savills, Oyster Partnership have also kindly agreed to sponsor our Networking Drinks Reception.

To purchase your ticket for the ceremony please BOOK NOW

The full list of finalists are:

Excellence in Plan Making Practice

  • LIVE Park Local Development Plan, Loch Lommond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
  • Living Places - An Urban Stewardship and Design Guide for Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland
  • London Legacy Development Corporation Local Plan 2015-2031, London, England
  • Places for Business and Industry Charrette, North Lanarkshire, Scotland
  • Saltaire World Heritage Site, Yorkshire, England

Excellence in Planning for Heritage

  • Heritage at Risk from Environmental Threat, England
  • Holyhead Townscape Heritage Initiative (2010-2015), Holyhead, Wales 
  • Nottingham Heritage Strategy, Nottingham, England
  • Pontyprid Lido Restoration, Rhondda Cynon Taf, Wales
  • Revealing the Roch, Rochdale, England
  • The Pumphouse, Barry, Wales

 Excellence in Planning for Community and Well-being 

  • Active Design - Planning for health and wellbeing through sport and physical activity, England
  • Hadleigh Park Olympic Mountain Bike Legacy Project, Essex, England
  • Leigh Road: Redevelopment of specialist housing for young adults with learning disabilities, facilitating largely independent living, London, England
  • Supporting Communities in Neigbourhood Planning, England
  • The Northamptonshire Community Flood Resilience Project, Northamptonshire, England

Excellence in Planning for the Natural Environment

  • Heritage at Risk from Environmental Threat, England
  • Kingsbrook Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, England
  • Revealing the Roch, Rochdale, England

Excellence in Planning to Create Economically Successful Places

  • Aberdeen City Centre Masterplan and Delivery Strategy, Aberdeen, Scotland
  • SA1 Waterfront Innovation Quarter, Swansea, Wales
  • UEA Enterprise Centre, Norwich, England
  • University of Southampton Boldrewood Innovation Campus 2005-2015, Southampton, England

Excellence in Planning to Deliver Housing 

  • Allen Court Housing, London, England
  • Chelmsford City Park West (Phases 1 and 2), Chelmsford, England
  • Hitchin Square, Parkside Estate, London, England
  • Laurieston Transformational Regeneration Area, Glasgow, Scotland
  • North West Cambridge Development, Cambridge, England
  • Plan for Homes, Plymouth, England

International Award for Planning Excellence 

  • Addis Ababa Urban Renewal Initiative, Addis Ababa, Ethiopa
  • Future Proofing Aluva, India
  • Master planning of San Vincente, Philippines
  • Post disaster reconstruction plan of Caojia village in Boaxing County, Sichuan Province, China
  • Semporna Marine Spatial Plan, Malaysia
  • Seychelles Strategic Land Use and Development Plan, Seychelles
  • Tana River Delta Land Use Plan and Tana River Delta Strategic Environmental Assessment, Kenya
  • The Tomorrow Plan, Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Employer Award for Excellence

  • Atkins Ltd
  • Cornwall Council
  • Savills UK Ltd

Local Authority Planning Team of the Year

  • Bath and North East Somerset Council, England
  • East Renfrewshire Council, Scotland
  • North East Lincolnshire Council/Engie Regeneration Partnership, England
  • Plymouth City Council, England
  • Sedgemoor District Council, England
  • Southend Borough Council, England

Planning Consultancy of the Year 

  • Atkins Ltd
  • Iceni Projects
  • Indigo Planning Ltd
  • Savills UK Ltd
  • Stride Treglown

Small Planning Consultancy of the Year

  • Brooke Smith Planning Consultants Ltd, Birmingham, England
  • HTA Design LLP, London, England
  • Pure Town Planning Ltd, Bournemouth, England
  • RCA Regeneration Ltd, Worcestershire, England 

Volunteer Planner of the Year

  • Bob Wolfe - Hon Regional Secretary RTPI Yorkshire and Humber, England
  • David Thew - Secretary to the Futures Network West Midlands, England
  • Emma Lancaster - Asscoiate: Chartered Town Planner, Spawforths, Yorkshire, England
  • Jo Samuels - Planner and Urban Designer: BPUD and Task Group Leader, England
  • Joanne Harding - Pricipal Planning Policy Officer, Halton Borough Council, England
  • Paul Harris - Policy Planner, Stratford on Avon District Council, England
  • Richard Hammersley - Retired, West Midlands, England

Young Planner of the Year 

  • Adele Maher - Strategic Planning Manager, London Borough of Tower Hamlets, England
  • Emma Lancaster - Associate: Chatered Town Planner, Spawforths, England
  • Kirsty Macari - Senior Planning Officer, Angus Council, Scotland
  • William Shand - Planner, Fife Council, Scotland

Headline Sponsors:



Welcome Drinks, Networking Drinks Reception and Plannign Consultancy of the Year Category Sponsor:

Oyster _New Logo Big

Excellence in Planning for the Community and Well-Being Category Sponsor:

British Land _LOGO_RGB_Screen _2015


Excellence in Plan Making Practice Category Sponsor:

Quod Process Blue HR