This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

President's Special Award 2015

13 November 2015

New campus at Dublin Institute of Technology wins special planning award


The transformation of the Dublin Institute of Technology’s campus by Grangegorman Development Agency has been awarded the President’s Special Award by the RTPI.

A former psychiatric hospital has been transformed into a new campus that stands out for its seamless integration with the town and public life, serving the needs of students and the community. It is well connected by good public transit and an internal transport service network, and is well designed with many ways in, out and through the campus.

Cath Ranson, RTPI President 2014-15, said:

“This project is an exemplar of quality masterplanning and attention to detail. There are many facets that deserve to be recognised: the ability to use planning to create places that reach out and serve different socio-economic groups, the creative use of a formerly closed site which now supports mixed activities and services for students and the wider community, the design of good public transport connections, the quality of heritage conservation, and the use of the arts to enhance the public and student interface.

“In all of this, the role of planning has been instrumental in ensuring urban improvements have the legacy to improve lives.”

The award was presented to Ms Terry Prendergast, Senior Planner at Grangegorman Development Agency on 12 November by Cath Ranson, Immediate Past President.  

The RTPI President's Special Award recognises long term outstanding achievement in planning. The award is made to a planning organisation, team, office, or individual to recognise their contribution to planning achievement. First awarded in 2000, the Award is not necessarily given every year. The last award was given to The Olympic Delivery Authority and The London Legacy Development Corporation.