This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

RTPI centenary begins with the award of lifetime honorary memberships

01 January 2014

To mark the start of the centenary and to recognise the status of our honorary members the Institute’s Board of Trustees has today bestowed lifetime honorary membership on more than 30 distinguished planners, academics, politicians and other eminent persons in public life who have each, in their own fields of expertise, made an outstanding contribution to helping to promote the art and science of town planning.

President of the Royal Town Planning Institute (RTPI), Dr Peter Geraghty said:

“I am delighted to be able to announce the first of our lifetime honorary members as we begin our centenary celebrations. I am very proud that we have such an illustrious group of people who all have a continuing interest in and a commitment to planning. We will be working closely with them in the coming years to involve them in the activities of the Institute”.

The lifetime honorary members include Sir Malcolm Grant, Chairman of NHS England; The Lord Deben, Chair of the UK’s independent Committee on Climate Change and a former Secertary of State for the Environment; Professor Susan Owens OBE Professor of Environment and Policy, University of Cambridge and Naison Mutizwa-Mangiza, Chief of the Policy Analysis Branch of UN-HABITAT and Editor-in-Chief of the Global Report on Human Settlements.

The new lifetime honorary members are:

Mr Robert Edward Boote; Mr Armando Carbonell; Professor Peter Clinch; Professor Derek R Diamond; Professor David Vernon Donnison; Professor Dr A K F Faludi; Mr Paul Farmer; Sir Malcolm Grant; The Right Honorable The Lord Deben; Professor Sir Peter Hall; Dr George Hazel; Mr Keith House; Mr Maurice Jenkins; Professor Dr Klaus Kunzmann; Mr Charles Lambert; Mr Richard Hill Mackenzie; Professor Duncan Maclennan; Professor Dr Jakob Maurer; Mr Naison Mutizwa-Mangiza; Professor Barbara Norman; Professor Susan Owens OBE; Mr Sunand Prasad; Mr Jonathon Porritt; The Right Hon Nick Raynsford; Professor Brian Robson; Mr David J Rose; Mr Jon Rouse; Mr Asad Shaheed; Mrs Susan Jane Taylor; Mr Wyndham Thomas CBE; Dr Vesselina Troeva; Mr Milan Turba; Mr Robert Upton; Mr Richard Wakeford; Mr Robert Yaro; and Mr Eric Young.