This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

Up for the cup!

20 June 2013

Jubilee CupRTPI Events and Awards assistant, Mia Vaughan, is pictured with the RTPI Silver Jubilee Cup as the Institute makes final preparations for the RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence on 10 July.

 The cup has just been returned to RTPI headquarters in London after a year in Scotland. The cup will be carefully polished and stored in a safe until the evening it will be presented.

Many RTPI members are curious about the cup’s history. The magnificent silver goblet, hallmarked in Sheffield in 1895, is typical of those awarded as trophies in Victorian and Edwardian sporting events, and was donated to the Institute in 1977 by Tom Clarke, a Past President. It was originally won around the turn of the century by Tommy, an Olympic all-round athlete, and was prized and polished for 39 years by Grace, his widow.

It is awarded annually to the entry judged to be the most outstanding from amongst the individual winners in the different categories at the awards.

Spatial strategies and Silver Jubilee Cup award winner

The TAYplan Proposed Strategic Development Plan, is the current holder of the cup, and  covers the Dundee City region. It sets out a succinct and ambitious 20 year planning framework to direct local development plans and planning decisions and is intended to provide a positive land use strategy to attract and guide investment and provide certainty for inhabitants, decision makers and investors.

YaplanWith its focus on sustainable development and climate change mitigation and adaptation and its approach to the plan making process, the judges felt it represents a model that could be applied to strategic planning across the UK and beyond.

 Tino Hernandez, RTPI Head of Marketing & Communications, said:

“This year we have revised the awards, refreshed the individual categories, and greatly increased our pool of judges.  We have devised  a new one hour presentation ceremony followed by a networking drinks reception, generously sponsored this year by AECOM. The award of the Jubilee Cup will be the highlight of the evening. Our winner has been selected by our President Dr Peter Geraghty and our chair of judges, Sir Terry Farrell. We can’t wait to reveal  who has won.”

Click here for more information on the RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence and current Silver Jubilee Cup winner: TAYplan