This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

RTPI's reaction to the reshuffle

05 September 2012

UK Government

  • Rt Hon Greg Clark MP leaves DCLG for post in Treasury 
  • Nick Boles MP is new minister for planning
  • Bob Neill MP leaves DCLG
  • Brandon Lewis MP joins DCLG

Trudi Elliott, Chief Executive of the RTPI, said: \"I wish Greg Clark well in his new role. He proved himself to be a very able, articulate, and approachable minister who was always prepared to listen to, and engage with, the Institute. I also want to take this opportunity to welcome Nick Boles in his new role. The RTPI looks forward to working closely with him.\"

Colin Haylock, President of the RTPI, said: \"I want to thank Bob Neill for all his hard work. We greatly appreciated the constructive dialogue we had with him in the run up to the last election and which continued during his time as Minister. I am sure that he will continue to be a strong and influential voice for planning.\"

Nick Boles MP's profile

Nick Boles MP's speech to the Tory Reform Group 30 January 2012

BBC's guide to the new cabinet

Scottish Government reshuffle


  • Nicola Sturgeon will now become Cabinet Secretary for Infrastructure, Investment and Cities, playing a key role in the Scottish Government's programme for economic recovery. She will also take lead responsibility for Government Strategy and the Constitution, including preparations for the independence referendum. Ms Sturgeon's junior ministers will be Keith Brown, Minister for Transport and Veterans, and Margaret Burgess, MSP for Cunninghame South, who will become new Minister for Housing and Welfare.
  • Alex Neil will become Cabinet Secretary for Health and Wellbeing with the support of the existing team of Ministers, Sports Minister Shona Robison and Public Health Minister Michael Matheson.
  • Bruce Crawford MSP is to retire from his role as Cabinet Secretary for Parliamentary Business and Government Strategy and Brian Adam will be stepping down as Minister for Parliamentary Business will be replaced by Joe Fitzpatrick, MSP for Dundee City West (this means that he will have to stand down as Convenor of the Parliament's Local Government and Regeneration Committee)
  • Stewart Stevenson will be stepping down as Minister for Environment and Climate Change and will be replaced by Paul Wheelhouse, MSP for South Scotland, who will report to Cabinet Secretary for Rural Affairs Richard Lochhead.
  • Humza Yousaf, MSP for Glasgow, joins the Government as Minister for External Affairs and International Development reporting to Cabinet Secretary for Culture and External Affairs Fiona Hyslop.
  • Derek Mackay and John Swinney remain in post.
  • The other Cabinet Secretaries and Ministers will remain as they were.

Bob Reid, RTPI Scotland's Convenor, said:  \"I am pleased that Derek Mackay has retained his role as Minister for Local Government and Planning.  He has recently launched the Planning Reform, Next Steps programme which can improve how planning in Scotland is resourced, how it functions and how it performs.  It is  good that he is given the important responsibility to take this forward.  He has built a good relationship with RTPI Scotland and so we look forward to continuing to work with him to ensure that the reforms help planners deliver great places for the people of Scotland.\"      

Wales and Northern Ireland


There is a new Wales Secretary, David Jones MP. He has highlighting boosting the economy as his key priority in his new role.

Teresa Villiers MP has taken over as Northern Ireland Secretary.