This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

The best of British planning highlighted

02 August 2011

The Royal Town Planning Institute (RTPI) today announced the shortlist for the RTPI Planning Awards. The shortlist includes projects from across Great Britain and Northern Ireland, shining a light on some of the best planning in the country.

34 projects have been shortlisted across 9 categories, with the overall winner receiving the coveted Silver Jubilee Cup. Award entries are judged by a panel of planning experts who examine written submissions, carry out interviews and conduct site visits. The RTPI Planning Awards ceremony will be held in February 2012.

President of the RTPI Richard Summers said:

\"The shortlist for the RTPI Planning Awards features a wide range of exciting projects and highlights the strength of planning and the professionalism of planners in the UK.  Each project demonstrates its own innovation and creativity. The candidates have shown excellence in each of the award categories and the judges have identified an outstanding shortlist. I am delighted to see this impressive response in these difficult economic times amidst the uncertainties of change in our planning system.\"

34 projects have been shortlisted across 9 categories.

The shortlisted entries are:

  •     Porth Teigr by igloo Regeneration Ltd
  •     Trident Park by SLR Consulting/Viridor
  •     The Better Southend Project by Southend-on-Sea Borough Council
  •     High House Production Park by High House Production Park Ltd
  •     Greening Victoria by Land Use Consultants
  •     Qualityreviewer by Urban Design Skills
  •     Blueprint by Winchester City Council
  •     Site Waste Management Plan Implementation by Brighton & Hove City Council
  •     All Together Now - Delivering the Vision by Cambridgeshire County Council and Peterborough City Council
  •     Shaftesbury Villages by Rolfe Judd
  •     Dalston Square by Barratt London
  •     Olympic Park Stratford E20 by Olympic Delivery Authority
  •     Trevenson Park South, Pool, Cornwall by Savills (L&P) Limited
  •     Low Carbon Bath by Centre for Sustainable Energy
  •     Know Your Place by Bristol City Council
  •     Plymouth's Market Recovery Action Plan by Plymouth City Council
  •     Learning and Planning Together by Teignbridge District Council
  •     Shropshire Place Plans by Shropshire Council
  •     Birmingham Big City Plan City Centre Masterplan by Birmingham City Council
  •     Burnhill Green by Entec UK for The Crown Estate
  •     Argyll and Bute Woodland and Forestry Strategy by Argyll and Bute Council
  •     Stubb Mill Restoration Project by Broads Authority
  •     Norwich Memorial Gardens by HCA/ Norwich City Council
  •     Joint Core Strategy for GNDP by Greater Norwich Development Partnership
  •     Lime Street Gateway by Glenn Howells Architects
  •     Liverpool Green Infrastructure Strategy by The Mersey Forest
  •     K Village, Kendal, Cumbria by WDR & RT Taggart
  •     Land off Common Lane, Partington by National Grid Property Holdings Ltd
  •     Chester Point by Chester & District Housing Trust
  •     Saint Anne's Square, Belfast by WDR & RT Taggart
  •     The Grassmarket Public Realm Project by City of Edinburgh Council
  •     Polkemmet Restoration by West Lothian Council
  •     The Edinburgh Planning Concordat by City of Edinburgh Council
  •     TAYplan Proposed Strategic Development Plan by TAYplan Strategic Development Planning Authority

The 9 categories are:

City and Metropolitan Areas, Local Regeneration and Renewal, Planning for Business, Planning Process, Public Realm, Rural Areas and the Natural, Environment, Spatial Strategies, Sustainable Communities, and Other (for projects that do not obviously fit within an existing category).

The RTPI Planning Awards were established in 1978, and developed into the UK's premier awards for planning, recognising the very best practice and rewarding outstanding achievement in the profession.

Leonora Rozee OBE BA (Hons) MRTPI - Chair of Judges; Donald Alder FRICS MRTPI; Professor Chris Couch, MRICS, MRTPI, DipTP, MSc (Arch) (Dist) comprise the hugely experienced three-member judging panel.

In addition to the Awards for projects, the RTPI Planning Awards ceremony will also include presentations to the winners of: The Planning Consultancy of the Year Awards, Young Planner of the Year, and The Education and Lifelong Learning Awards.