This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

Election results: Junior Vice-President, Executive Board and General Assembly

03 December 2010

Junior Vice-President

Peter GeraghtyDr Peter Geraghty (pictured right) received 1518 votes, David Marshall received 1285 votes whilst Ken Burley received 578 votes. Turnout, at just over 17% of the electorate, was the highest for more than five years. Peter will become President of the Institute in 2013.

Executive Board Corporate Members

Andrew Taylor, Graham Stallwood and Vincent Goodstadt are elected for 2011 and 2012.

General Assembly Corporate Members

The following are elected for 2011 and 2012:

  • Chris Shepley 
  • David Marshall
  • Julia Riddle
  • Phil Williams
  • Jim Claydon
  • Ron Tate
  • Peter Geraghty
  • Richard Williamson
  • Ian Angus
  • David Barraclough
  • Martin Willey
  • Ismail Mohammed
  • Ian Wray 
  • Alan Wenban-Smith

General Assembly Student/Licentiate Members

Robert Krzyszowski, Cullum Parker and Andrew Charles are elected for 2011 and 2012. 

General Assembly Legal Member/Legal Associate

One valid nomination was received, from Bernadette Hillman, who will be a Legal Associate representative for 2011 and 2012.

General Assembly Technical Member

Two valid nominations were received, from Paul Bateman and Michael Crossley, who will be Technical member representatives for 2011 and 2012.

Honorary Officers

The Honorary Treasurer and Honorary Solicitor & Secretary posts are filled by election at the January General Assembly. 

At the Board meeting of 10 November it was decided to recommend Vincent Goodstadt as Honorary Treasurer and Peter Wilbraham as Honorary Solicitor & Secretary for 2011. 

Members of the General Assembly are entitled to nominate other candidates for each office. If more than one candidate is identified for either office, a postal ballot of members of General Assembly will be held in January, with results to be announced at the General Assembly meeting on 19 January 2011.