This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

National awards shortlist shows planning is delivering real solutions

29 January 2009

Thirty-four planning projects from across the UK, ranging from remarkable new railway infrastructure schemes to a new interactive minerals planning website, have been shortlisted for the prestigious 2008 Royal Town Planning Institute (RTPI) Planning Awards. Iain Wright MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government will present the Silver Jubilee Cup, the UK's top planning prize, to the overall winner at the awards which will take place at the London Hilton, Park Lane on Thursday 5th February from 12.00pm.

RTPI President Martin Willey said: \"The RTPI awards recognise projects which are delivering real solutions in planning, something I am passionate about. I am pleased to see so many unique planning projects shortlisted for the awards and commend those involved for tackling various planning issues head on whether it is regeneration, the environment, or community engagement and making a real difference on a national scale.\"

Chair of the judging panel Chris Shepley, the former Chief Planning Inspector, said of the shortlist: \"Without question the awards shortlist shows how the planning system can deliver major projects in a reasonable timeframe, to a high standard and keeping within budget. The judging panel has been impressed by the sheer number of entries showing how planners are finding real ways to confront these challenges as well as those of climate change, sustainability and community involvement in the planning process.\"

Projects on the shortlist have been recognised for their significant national contribution to planning and clearly demonstrate how major projects can be delivered quickly through the planning process, on time and within budget. This year the judges announced a new 'Infrastructure' category, bringing the total number of categories to 13. The categories are:

• Sustainable Communities
• City and Metropolitan Areas
• Town Regeneration
• Rural Areas and the Natural Environment
• Renewed Neighbourhoods
• Heritage
• Arts, Culture and Sport
• Climate Change
• Spatial Strategies
• Planning Process
• E-government
• Equality and Diversity
• Infrastructure

A total of 111 entries were received for the 2008 awards, up from 87 entries in 2007. 34 entries have been shortlisted:

East of England
• Cambridgeshire Quality Charter Growth (Cambridgeshire Horizons)

East Midlands
• Stoke Bruerne Village Conservation Plan (British Waterways)
• North Northamptonshire Core Spatial Strategy (North Northamptonshire Joint Planning Unit)

• Delivering Sustainable Energy and Biodiversity Enhancement in Tower Hamlets (London Borough of Tower Hamlets)
• Brent Cross Cricklewood (RPS)

North East
• Creating a state of the art planning service for the new Northumberland (Northumberland Planning Officers' Group)
• Cleadon Park Regeneration Scheme (South Tyneside Council)
• South Tyneside Local Development Framework Core Strategy (South Tyneside Council)

North West
• Media City UK (S Wright Ltd)
• Liverpool One (The Paradise Project) (Liverpool City Council)
• Rural Planning Facilitation Service (Cumbria Rural Enterprise Agency)

South East
• Heritage and Archaeology on the Channel Tunnel Rail Link (CTRL Project)
• Other People's Photographs, Folkestone (Strange Cargo)
• Channel Tunnel Rail Link : High Speed 1 (Channel Tunnel Rail Link Planning Forum)

South West
• Princesshay Exeter (Exeter City Council)
• Your Place, Your Future (Plymouth City Council)
• Bristol Harbourside (Nathaniel Lichfield & Partners)
• Adelaide Park Home Zone, Stonehouse, Plymouth (Plymouth City Council)
• The Cornish Building Stone and Slate Guide (Cornwall County Council)

West Midlands
• Urban Design Framework for Stratford upon Avon (Stratford upon Avon District Council)

• Taking Planning out of Policy and into the Community (Hambleton District Council)

Republic of Ireland
• The Preparation and implementation of the Planning Scheme for the Adamstown Strategic Development Zone (SDZ) (South Dublin County Council)

• The Carrick Golf Resort, Loch Lomond (Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park Authority)
• The Stobswell Area Physical Regeneration Project (Dundee City Council and Community Planning Partners)

• The Works Ebbw Vale (ERM)
• Pembroke Dock Regeneration (Pembrokeshire County Council)
• Ebbw Valley Railway Project (Capita Symonds & Blaenau Gwent Borough Council)

Non-area specific
• The RSPB Minerals Restoration Potential Project – Creating Nature after Minerals
• The Atlas Guide, Planning for Large Scale Development (Advisory Team for Large Applications - ATLAS)
• Effective Community Involvement in LDF's Tailored Support for Planning Authorities (Entec UK Ltd)
• Manual for Streets (Tribal Urban Studio)
• Unlawful Advertising and Fly-Posting Database (Planning Portal)
• Somewhere to Live: a short film about meeting the accommodation needs of Gypsies, Travellers and Travelling Showpeople (East of England Regional Assembly, 4NW, South East England Regional Assembly and West Midlands Regional Assembly)
• Planning Summer School (Planning Summer School)

The judging panel for the 2008 awards comprises of: Chief Judge Chris Shepley; Mike Ash, former Government Chief Planner and Katy Powell, Chair of the National Planning Forum.