This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

RTPI election results 2018

The RTPI has held its annual elections for the Vice-President, the Board of Trustees and the General Assembly.

The RTPI annual elections boosts female representation at top table.

The RTPI election results see a female Vice-President, an additional woman on the Board of Trustees and more than half of General Assembly members as now female. The result is a huge success for the RTPI's diversity, with equal numbers of men and women elected to lead the Institute into the future.

RTPI Chief Executive, Victoria Hills, said:

"Whilst there is more work to do on securing better proportional BAME, age and disability representation in our governance, today's results mark an important step forward in our commitment to diversity and Inclusivity throughout the planning profession. 

"I'm thrilled we have attracted so many rising stars who will play an active and important part in shaping the future strategy and activities of the RTPI and the planning profession. Many congratulations all!"

The RTPI Vice President

Sue Manns FRTPI, FRSA, FRGS has been elected as the RTPI Vice President in 2019 and will lead the Institute in 2020.

Sue Manns said: "I would like to thank all those who voted in the recent RTPI elections and especially those who put themselves forward as candidates for the various posts. It is good to see that so many people are engaged and committed to the future of their Institute.

"I am personally very grateful for the support I received from members of the Institute and so pleased to have been elected as Vice President for 2019 and to lead the Institute as its President in 2020.

"I am looking forward to playing my part in 'raising the volume' and 'changing the conversation' around planning, ensuring that the voices of RTPI members and the wider profession are both heard and respected."

Watch: Sue Manns talks about why she should be the RTPI President.

Sue Manns Video

The RTPI Board of Trustees

Graham Stallwood FRTPI was elected to chair the Board of Trustees

Honorary Treasurer: Andrew Taylor FRTPI, FRSA

Trustee for Scotland:  Stefano SmithFRTPI

Chartered Members

  • Sue Bridge FRTPI
  • Meeta Kaur MRTPI
  • Tony Crook FRTPI, FAcSS, FRSA
  • Andrew Taylor FRTPI (elected but stood down due to election to another position)

The RTPI General Assembly

Chartered Members

  • Steve Avery MRTPI
  • Samer Bagaeen MRTPI FRICS
  • James Carpenter MRTPI
  • Sara Dilmamode MRTPI
  • Helen Fadipe MRTPI
  • Sandra Ford MRTPI
  • Vincent Goodstadt MRTPI
  • Abraham Laker MRTPI
  • Nicky Linihan MRTPI
  • Lindsey Richards FRTPI
  • Corinne Swain FRTPI FAcSS
  • Tammy Swift-Adams MRTPI
  • Phil Williams MRTPI
  • Jennifer Winyard MRTPI MRICS
  • Andrew Taylor FRTPI (elected but stood down due to election to another position)


  • Garry King
  • Olafiyinfoluwa Taiwo
  • Layla Vidal-Martin

Legal Member/Associate

  • Martin Edwards LARTPI FRSA


  • Jayanand Kumaraguru AssocRTPI
  • Atefeh Motamedi AssocRTPI