This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

Election for new Chair


Following the recent announcement by Graham Stallwood FRTPI to stand down as Chair of the Board of Trustees, in order to take up a new role as Director of Operations at The Planning Inspectorate, we are going to run an election to appoint a new Chair.

Graham has been a volunteer with the RTPI for 17 years, and we are very grateful to him for his outstanding work.


Chartered Members of the RTPI are invited to stand for election as Chair with the support of at least four other Chartered Members. The role, subject to, election shall be for the remainder of the existing Chair's term, i.e., 18 months from June 2019 until December 2020.

Timelines for nominations are as follows:

  • Nominations open: Friday, 29 March
  • Nominations close: Sunday, 28 April


Potential candidates should review the Chair's role description and time commitments closely, in order to familiarise yourself with what will be expected from the Chair and how it relates to the RTPI's other governance arrangements.

The new Chair will also be closely engaged with developing and promoting an ambitious and progressive new ten year corporate strategy for the RTPI.

You will receive an email on Friday 29 March announcing the opening of the nominations process. 


General Assembly Members of the RTPI are invited to vote to elect the new Chair which will be elected by simple majority of votes cast in favour. 

Timelines for the elections are as follows:

  • Elections open: Wednesday, 1 May
  • Elections close: Wednesday, 22 May

Please note the above timelines and look out for the nominations email (by post, if we haven't got an email address for you). Should you have any questions about the process, please contact Sukhpreet Bhatia, Governance Manager – or call 0207 929 8172