This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence Finalists 2016

The 2016 RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence have once again proven to be very popular amongst those of the planning proffession. We welcomed two new catgories into the mix; the International Award for Planning Excellence and Volunteer Planner of the Year, both received an overhwhelming amount of interest, setting the bar for years to come. The judging panel worked long and hard to create the list of finalists below and are very excited about the diversity and high standard of entries this year. 

The finalists highlight oustanding examples of planning and the contribution that planners and planning make to society. For more information on particular entries within each category please click on the category.

View the 2016 winners here

Employer Award for Excellence

  • Atkins Ltd
  • Cornwall Council
  • Savills UK Ltd

Excellence in Plan Making Practice

  • LIVE Park Local Development Plan - Submitted by Loch Lommond and The Trossachs National Park Authority, Scotland
  • Living Places - An Urban Stewardship and Design Guide for Northern Ireland - Submitted by the Planning Policy Division, Department of the Environment Northern Ireland
  • London Legacy Development Corporation Local Plan 2015-2031 - Submitted by London Legacy Development Corporation, London, England
  • Places for Business and Industry Charrette - Submitted by AECOM, North Lanarkshire Council, Nick Wright Planning and Rettie & Co. North Lanarkshire, Scotland
  • Saltaire World Heritage Site Management Plan - Submitted by City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council, Yorkshire, England

Excellence in Planning for Built Heritage

  • Heritage at Risk from Environmental Threat - Submitted by Atkins, England
  • Holyhead Townscape Heritage Initiative (2010-2015) - Submitted by Isle of Anglesey County Council, Holyhead, Wales 
  • Nottingham Heritage Strategy - Submitted by Locus Consulting, Nottingham, England
  • Pontyprid Lido Restoration - Submitted by Rhondda Cynon Taf CBC, Rhondda Cynon Taf, Wales
  • Revealing the Roch - Submitted by Rochdale Borough Council, Rochdale, England
  • The Pumphouse - Submitted by WYG and Vale of Glamorgan, Barry, Wales


Excellence in Planning for the Community and Well-being

  • Active Design. Planning for health and wellbeing through sport and physical activity - Submitted by David Lock Associates, England
  • Hadleigh Park Olympic Mountain Bike Legacy Project - Submitted by Chris Blandford Associates, Essex, England
  • Leigh Road: Redevelopment of specialist housing for young adults with learning disabilities, facilitating largely independent living. Submitted by HTA Design LLP, London, England
  • Supporting Communities in Neighbourhood Planning - Submitted by AECOM, England
  • The Northamptonshire Community Flood Resilience Project. - Submitted by Northamptonshire County Council, Northamptonshire, England

Excellence in Planning for the Natural Environment

  • Heritage at Risk from Environmental Threat - Submitted by Atkins, England
  • Kingsbrook Aylesbury - Submitted by Bidwells LLP, England
  • Revealing the Roch - Submitted by Rochdale Borough Council, England

Excellence in Planning to Create Economically Successful Places

  • Aberdeen City Centre Masterplan and Delivery Strategy - Submitted by BDP and Aberdeen City Council, Aberdeen, Scotland
  • SA1 Waterfront Innovation Quarter, Swansea. - Submitted by Stride Treglown Limited, Swansea, Wales
  • UEA Enterprise Centre - Submitted by Bidwells, Architype, Morgan Sindell and ADAPT Low Carbon Group and the University of East Anglia, Norwich, England 
  • University of Southampton Boldrewood Innovation Campus 2005-2015 - Submitted by Luken Beck mdp Ltd on behalf of the University of Southampton and Lloyd's Register, Southampton, England

Excellence in Planning to Deliver Housing 

  • Allen Court - Submitted by HTA Design LLP Team, England
  • Chelmsford City Park West (Phases 1 and 2) - Submitted by Bidwells LLP and Pollard Thomas Edwards, England
  • Hitchin Square, Parkside Estate - Submitted by PRP, England
  • Laurieston Transformational Regeneration Area (TRA) - Submitted by Glasgow City Council on behalf of Transforming Communities: Glasgow, Scotland
  • North West Cambridge Development - Submitted by AECOM and University of Cambridge, England
  • Plan for Homes - Submitted by Plymouth City Council, England

International Award for Planning Excellence 

  • Addis Ababa: Urban Renewal Initiative, Ethiopia - Submitted by Arup
  • Future Proofing Aluva, India - Submitted by Atkins Ltd
  • Master planning of San Vicente, Palawan as a Flagship Tourism Enterprise Zone, Philippines - Submitted by Palafox Associates
  • Post-disaster Reconstruction Plan of Caojia Village in Baoxing County, Sichuan Province, China - Submitted by Shanghai Tongji Urban Planning & Design Institute
  • Semporna Marine Spatial Plan, Malaysia - Submitted by Borneo Spatial Planning Consultancy
  • Seychelles Strategic Land Use and Development Plan, Seychelles - Submitted by Abu Dhabi Urban Planning Council  
  • Tana River Delta Land Use Plan and Tana River Delta Strategic Environmental Assessment, Kenya - Submitted by Royal Society for Protection of Birds, Nature Kenya, Government of Kenya, Inter-Ministerial Committee on Sustainable Management of Deltas in Kenya, Governments of Tana County and Lamu,County and Planning Green Futures
  • The Tomorrow Plan, Des Moines, Iowa, USA - Submitted by Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization

Local Authority Planning Team of the Year

  • Bath and North East Somerset Council, England
  • East Renfrewshire Council, Scotland
  • North East Lincolnshire Council and ENGIE, England
  • Plymouth City Council, England
  • Sedgemoor District Council, England
  • Southend-on-Sea Borough Council, England

Planning Consultancy of the Year 

  • Atkins Ltd
  • Iceni Projects
  • Indigo Planning Ltd
  • Savills UK Ltd
  • Stridge Treglown

Small Planning Consultancy of the Year

  • Brooke Smith Planning Consultants Ltd, Birmingham, England
  • HTA Design LLP, London, England
  • Pure Town Planning Ltd, Bournemouth, England
  • RCA Regeneration Ltd,Worcestershire, England 

Volunteer Planner of the Year

  • Bob Wolfe - Hon Regional Secretary Yorkshire, England
  • David Thew - Secretary to the Futures Network West Midlands 
  • Emma Lancaster - Associate: Chartered Town Planner, Spawforths, Yorkshire
  • Jo Samuels - Planner and Urban Designer: BPUD and Task Group Leader - RTPI NW Young Planners, England
  • Joanne Harding - Principal Planning Policy Officer: Halton Borough Council/Chair - RTPI NW, England
  • Paul Harris - Policy Planner: Stratford on Avon District Council, England 
  • Richard Hammersley - Retired, West Midlands, England

Young Planner of the Year 

  • Adele Maher - Strategic Planning Manager, London Borough of Tower Hamlets, England 
  • Emma Lancaster - Associate: Chartered Town Planner, Spawforths, England
  • Kirsty Macari - Senior Planning Officer, Angus Council, Scotland
  • William Shand - Planner at Fife Council, Scotland

Headline Sponsors:



Welcome Drinks, Networking Drinks Reception and Planning Consultancy of the Year Category Sponsor:

Oyster _New Logo Big
Excellence in Planning for the Community and Well-being Category Sponsor:

British Land _LOGO_RGB_Screen _2015


Excellence in Plan Making Practice Category Sponsor:




       Planning Aid England Logo Large

    The Planner Logo2

GVA_Label _Hor _colour