This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best possible experience. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. You can find out more about how we use cookies here. If you would like to know more about cookies, or how you can delete them, click here.

Future Planners Bursary

RTPI-Future Planners Aqua 

Interested in getting a job after graduation? Planning is the fourth most successful degree subject for finding work after completion.


Postgraduate bursary - the RTPI Future Planners Bursary

How can we help?

The Royal Town Planning Institute (RTPI) is continuing its highly successful bursary for places on accredited University planning Masters courses. It is open to students from any discipline including law, politics, geography or architecture who decide to choose planning as a career.  Interested?  Find out more about town planning and how you can help shape the places we live and work in.

How the scheme will work

The bursary will be worth £1,000 to the successful student. It has been co-sponsored by Universities, and will be offered as either a fee waiver or for the recipient to use at their discretion (this may vary by institution).

Who is eligible for the bursary

For this programme students will be eligible if they;

  • are a UK / EU citizen or have proof of eligibility to work in the UK or Ireland after graduation
  • have a First or Upper 2nd class degree at undergraduate level in any discipline
  • demonstrate an interest in town planning as a career
  • have an offer for 2016 -17 on a fully accredited Planning Masters at an accredited University planning school.

The course must be listed on the RTPI's website as a 'combined' qualification. A full list of RTPI accredited courses can be found here.

Further information and how to apply

The bursary scheme is now open for 2016-17.

The accredited university Planning Schools listed below are taking part in the Bursary Scheme. Applications for the Bursary should be made directly to the university where applicants are intending to study. For more information about the courses offered at these institutions follow the links below.

Anglia Ruskin University

Birmingham City University

Cardiff University

Heriot-Watt University

Leeds Beckett University

Newcastle University

Oxford Brookes University

Plymouth University

Sheffield Hallam University

Ulster University

University of Birmingham

University of Brighton

University College Cork

University College Dublin

University College London

University of Dundee

University of Glasgow

University of Manchester

University of Reading

University of Sheffield

University of the West of England

University of Westminster


The list of university Planning Schools taking part in the Future Planners Bursary 2016-17 may increase.


Undergraduate bursary - RTPI Trust Bursary

The new RTPI Trust Bursary is designed to promote and support diversity within, and widen access to, the planning profession. The bursary of £2,000 will recognise undergraduate student excellence among students currently studying on an accredited planning programme. There will be two categories for the RTPI Trust Bursary, both of which demonstrate there should be no barriers to studying planning. One RTPI Trust Bursary promotes widening participation and the other one supports people with disabilities. More information on the RTPI Trust can be found here.

Who is eligible for the bursary

  • Home or EU domiciled student.
  • The nominated students will be enrolled in the second year or above on an accredited Undergraduate course in the UK or Ireland in 2016-17

Accredited Planning schools may nominate 2 students for each category. Nominees must fulfil one of the criteria in either category A or Category B in addition to the eligibility criteria above;

Category A

  • A person with a protected characteristic under the Equality Act 2010 which is under-represented in the planning profession. For example there is not a broad ethnic mix in the planning profession and women are currently under-represented.


  • Nominee applied for the course through the Widening Participation agenda or through a non-traditional admissions method and achieving good results.

Category B

  • The student must have declared a Disability or a Specific Learning Difficulty (e.g. Dyslexia or Dyspraxia) to the university prior to being nominated for this Bursary.

Please note: Nominations for the Bursary will be made by the accredited Planning School and provided to the RTPI.


Thank you to the following organisations who have contributed towards the Future Planners Bursary scheme. More information on the support from the Department of Communities and Local Government can be found here.


Blue _atkins _logo _edit _edit

 Barton Willmore

GVA Logo _edit _edit
Indigo Planning Logo _including Exclusion Zone (CMYK)


National Planning Forum - Red Logo

Quod Process Blue JPEG HR_edit _edit

 Scottish Government - Square




Turley _RGB_vector


  RTPI Past Presidents



 RTPI-South East -Logo -Screen

 RTPI-South West -Logo -Screen

 RTPI-West Midlands -Logo -Screen

 RTPI-Yorkshire -Logo -Screen


For any other queries  on the scheme please contact the RTPI on

The RTPI has more information on becoming a planner here